Hungry for Hope Conference, Part 3

I want to wrap-up my experience in Colorado Springs last weekend.  I have to be pretty quick because I’m blogging on my lunch break and I need to finish up.  If you missed the first part, you can read part 1, part 2 and my testimony.

Saturday evening’s session was led by Dr. John Townsend

I had read portions of his book, Boundaries, while I was at Remuda, so I was familiar with some of the concepts he was talking about.  I won’t go into detail, because you really should read his book.  But one of the things that really stood out to me was when he said that we are planned to recover AND we have a mission.  For me to hear something like that right after sharing my testimony at dinner was really meaningful.  I know that my heart is in helping those with eating disorders get to a place of freedom and peace.  But to hear from Dr. Townsend that God has a mission for me and my recovery really reinforced that desire of my heart.

Saturday ended with a concert by JJ Heller and her husband, Dave.  I first heard JJ when she played at a chapel service while I was at Remuda.  I have loved her music ever since.  Her song was even featured on the show, So You Think You Can Dance.  The concert was great.  JJ’s voice is so pure and haunting.  I love her folksy-type music.  And Dave is hysterical.  Really funny.   It was the perfect end to the evening.

Sunday morning I got to hear John Lynch.  He wrote a book that I started reading shortly after I got out of treatment, called TrueFaced.  This was one of the best messages I have heard in my life.  Including everything: conferences, classes, sermons, podcasts, dreams.  John Lynch has an amazing gift to speak to and touch people’s lives.  He made me laugh (he does a great Irish accent) but he also made me cry.  I don’t think that there is any possible way that I can give him enough credit.  I am going to check out his sermons on iTunes.  He is the pastor of Open Door Fellowship in Phoenix, AZ.

He spoke of “God’s New Testament Gamble.”  Once I get a copy of this, I will certainly be sharing it with you all. 

One of the things that I’m still thinking about from his message is when he said that “love is the process of meeting needs.  When I act like I have no issues, you can’t love me.”  For so long, I have been taking care of myself, not allowing anyone to really help me, because I wanted to be self-sufficient.  I didn’t want to burden anyone, and I certainly didn’t want to give anyone the opportunity to let me down or to reject me when they found out that I had needs.  Not exactly the way to form REAL relationships.

Next year’s conference will be June 17-19.  I’ll see you there!

Leave a Reply

