Tim’s run

Today I had a flash back to my junior year of high school.  It was during the track season that year, that I taught my younger sister how to triple jump.  I had been doing it for just over a year, and I wasn’t fantastic by any stretch of the imagination.  But I was okay.  My track coach thought that my sister would be good at it too; after all, we have the same build.  So, I showed her the technique and gave her a few pointers, and helped her to measure out her run-up distance.  I critiqued her first few attempts and pretty much sent her on her way.  The next meet….she beat me.

Today, Tim ran a 5K around town after he got home from work.  His first race is coming up in a few weeks and it is the same race that was my first race last year: The Chariots of Cheese (sounds impressive, huh?)  Last year, I went into that race having only run an entire 3.1 miles once before….and it was on the treadmill in 36 minutes (12:00 min/mile).  I finished that race in 30:06 and was thrilled that I took so much time of my previous 5K.  Today, Tim ran his 5K in 30:40!!  His splits were 9:50, 10:08, 9:48 and :55.  I’m so stinkin’ proud of him.  But I have a feeling I know where this is going.  🙂

Our plan is to run the 5K together on July 17th.  He wants me to pace him to finish in under 30 minutes.  I have a feeling I am going to be struggling to keep up with him.  I was planning to use that 5K as a recovery run for my marathon training plan.  Instead, I may have to take the day before off as a rest day just so that I can adequately run with him during the race.  Either way, we are going to have a ton of fun and I can’t wait to run Tim’s first race right by his side.

Leave a Reply

