Great start to my day

There is nothing better than starting your day with a run.  After skipping yesterday’s planned 4 miler to allow my body some additional rest, I woke up this morning and headed to the basement to have a wonderful date with the treadmill.  It would have been a gorgeous day to run outside, but sometimes I just don’t want to take the time necessary to prep everything I need to run outside.  So, instead I run on the treadmill and fill my head with mindless, DVR’d television.  🙂

My legs were still a little weary this morning so the pace was agonizing relaxing.  I am not sure why my recovery time is taking so long.  I know that my mileage is increasing, but I used to be able to run 5 or 6 days a week without any problems.  Now my legs just can’t seem to take it.  And it certainly doesn’t help matters that my left hip seems to have a mind of it’s own…a mind like a deliberately disobedient 4 year old!  (not that I would know anything about that.)

After my run, I headed in to work.  It was kinda nice not having to be in until 10:00.  I had a couple hours of training this morning and then….my first patient contacts since June 9th!  It has been a long time coming.  I was off for a week while the transition from temp employee to permanent employee went through.  Then I had a week of system-wide training.  Followed by several days of department-specific training.  Finally, this afternoon, I got a half day of actual medical assistant work.  🙂  I needed to be reminded of why I like this job.  The training can be very exhausting.  And, I’m not done yet.

Next week, I’ll be in Madison for three more days of training.  I’ll be staying at a hotel and attending a conference to get certified to administer audiograms.  It is something that Occupational Health does a lot of and since I haven’t been trained, I’ve always had to depend on someone else in the department to do them for me.  I can’t wait to learn to do them myself.  And the idea of staying at a hotel for three days, and going swimming, and running through Madison, and listening to music on the Capital Square and exploring the Farmer’s Markets, and getting away from my usual responsibilities makes this vacation training seem almost enjoyable!  😉

I hope you all have a wonderful and safe Fourth of July weekend!

Leave a Reply

