Aftermath

We had quite a storm last night.  I got home just before one of the major cells came over the house.  Thunder, lightning, high winds and driving rain.  It didn’t last long, but it was intense!

Apparently, there were other storms that came through during the night.  I have to take my husband’s word for it because I was sound asleep.  I’m pretty sure I could have slept through a tornado last night.  But Tim looked outside and said that the lightning was so constant it was like day-time out there.  And that there was a river flowing through our back yard. 

We got up this morning to see what happened.  So far, our basement is dry and the sump pump is pumping it’s little heart out to keep it that way.  It seems that the only casualties were my hollyhocks.  😦

If you look to the far right, you can see that my tomato plants are pretty flat as well.  Not sure what I’ll be able to salvage.

But I am counting my blessings that it wasn’t worse.  During my drive to work today, I saw several people who were literally stuck in their houses today.  The storm water overpowered the culverts and torn a huge cavern through their driveways.  There was no way they could get out.

And there was some localized flooding in Marshfield and the surrounding areas.

So, I will grudgingly sacrifice my beautiful hollyhocks for the fact that my family and property are safe.

Leave a Reply

