Five things Friday

1.  I took two days off running this week….in a row.  That hasn’t happened since the two days leading up to my half marathon in May.  And today’s planned 6 mile run ended up being a very leisurely 3.25.  Maybe I’m saving myself for the 5K tomorrow.  Maybe I’m just tired.

2.  I’m out of spinach and I really want a green monster.  But that means that I would have to go to the store; which needs to happen anyway, but I just don’t have much motivation right now.  I also need strawberries and bananas for the aforementioned green monster.  I guess I’ll need to get my butt in gear and get to the store.

3.  I hate pretty much everything that Nick Jr shows.  I know that Jaden loves it and that he enjoys watching some Max and Ruby or Wow, Wow Wubbzy, but I detest those shows.  Some of them are so bad (Yo Gabba Gabba) that I would rather hear fingernails on a chalkboard than sit through 22 minutes of torture.

4.  I have had no desire to cook lately.  Typically, I love making homemade meals; especially from the bountiful CSA harvest that we get each week.  But lately, I’ve resorted to easy, pantry staples.  Anything that can be heated up in a few minutes is a winner.  Maybe it’s the heat, but I just don’t want to be in the kitchen.  Any suggestions to get me out of my funk?  (Bonus points if it includes a way to use up large quantities of kale.)

5.  The Fox Cities Marathon is 65 days away.  I know that I still have a couple months of prep time, but I don’t feel ready for this race.  Tuesday’s 20 miler was supposed to be a good gauge of how my training has been going.  I got through the run, but I feel like it took me forever.  And it took so much out of me.  Granted, a marathon (or 20 mile training run) isn’t supposed to be easy.  I just hope that I have the strength, both physical and mental, to get though 26.2 miles.

Leave a Reply

