Tough twelve

Twelve miles today.  Twelve really tough miles.  I don’t know what it was about today that made it so challenging.  The first few miles actually weren’t that bad, but after about 4 miles, it turned into a mental game again.

Here are the stats:

Mile 1: 10:14
Mile 2: 10:23
Mile 3: 10:01
Mile 4: 10:10
Mile 5: 10:34
Mile 6: 10:44
Mile 7: 10:36
Mile 8: 11:01
Mile 9: 10:49
Mile 10: 10:40
Mile 11: 11:03
Mile 12: 10:23

I had some PowerBar Energy Gel Blasts during mile 7.  I think I like them.  They are a little sticky, but I can chew/suck on them and space them out longer than a GU.  I might have to pick up another pack and try them again.

I also had to take quite a few walk breaks and hip-stretching breaks.  Even now, after my shower, my left hip is really sore.  Sometimes I find myself limping adjusting my gait to avoid pain in that hip.

I gotta go get ready for work.  We are having a little gathering for all the staff who will be providing on-site services through Occupational Health.  It is going to be a fun way to get to know each other.  And they are serving lunch.  🙂

3 thoughts on “Tough twelve

  1. Sorry to hear your twelve was terrible. I am actually running my first 12 this weekend, eeek! Maybe you can ice you hip, and that will help the pain? I get nervous getting into these higher distances because our bodies are starting to react differently than normal. Sheeesh, you’d think a run is a run? Oh well, hopefully it’s better next time!

Leave a Reply

