Does anybody really know what day it is?

I thought it was Friday all day.  Not a bad thing, I know.  Especially since I don’t have to work tomorrow.  Woo Hoo!  But I do have to get up early and bust out 3 miles before taking my mom to a doctor’s appointment.  She is meeting with her surgeon to schedule a knee replacement.  My mom was quite the softball player in her day.  I remember spending almost every night during the summer, and all the weekends, watching my mom play ball.  Some of her best friends are the women she played softball with.  And consequently, I feel like they are still part of the family.  It was so nice to run into one of them last weekend at Cheese Days.

You know what else is fantastic about today?    CSA DAY!!!

Salad mix, broccoli, cauliflower, beets and carrots

Fava beans, summer squash, zucchini, cucumber, basil (YUM!!) and snap beans

I don’t think I have ever seen a fava bean in my life.  Here’s my plea again.  What do I do with them?  How do I cook them?  I know you guys can help.

I wanted to share an interesting photo of what the boys were doing last night.

Yep.  They are both playing with their cell phones.  Jaden usually inherits our old phones.  This particular one had a camera so he has been going around taking pictures of everything and then ‘texting’ them to people.  It’s adorable and slightly disturbing at the same time.

Have a great night.

2 thoughts on “Does anybody really know what day it is?

  1. My son and I went out tonight and I had the most amazing fava bean hummus. It was blended with greens (you could use sauteed beet greens) and basil. I’ve never received fava beans in a CSA but thought this dip was fabulous.

Leave a Reply

