News from the doc

Some of you already were aware of this news.  Others of you had guessed.  But now it is officially blog-worthy.  Tim and I are expecting baby number two in February.

While this was not something we were planning, we are excited to welcome a new addition to our family.  Jaden is also thrilled; although he is convinced that he will be having a baby brother and if this child turns out to be a girl, we may have to stage an intervention for him.

Yesterday’s appointment went very well.  It was a typical first OB appointment.  There was an exam (including all that wonderful girl-stuff with things like a speculum).  It was a little to early to hear the heartbeat, but the physician’s assistant brought in the ultrasound for a cursory look at the little bugger.  It is quite active; just like it’s older brother.  And, thankfully, there is only one little bugger in there!

I asked a lot of questions about the safety of some of the medications I take and whether I should try to wean off them.  Turns out that they are fine and that I should feel comfortable continuing to take them.  There were also questions about eating habits, which is something that always gets covered early in pregnancy; especially when you are typically not feeling the best and your eating habits may not be what they once were.  We talked about vegetarianism and getting enough protein.  She isn’t worried about that one.  There is absolutely nothing wrong with being a pregnant vegetarian!

The other long conversation centered on my running.  Specifically, the marathon that I have been training for the last 6 months.  I was pretty blunt.  I told her that if she told me I couldn’t run it, I probably wouldn’t listen to her.  At the very least, I would have to get a second opinion.  🙂  She laughed at me.  We determined (I love that she included me in the decision-making process) that the timing of the marathon was appropriate for me and the progression of my pregnancy.  She said that there was absolutely no reason why I shouldn’t run it.  Of course, there are things to think about.  I have to be even more vigilant about staying hydrated.  I have to be careful not to let my body temp get too high.  That means, taking walking breaks when necessary and running through all the sprinklers on the course!  I also have to be sure that I fuel properly when I’m running.  I will have higher fuel needs than a non-pregnant runner.  Instead of fueling once or twice during next month’s half marathon, I will probably need to fuel three times.

These are all things that I can handle.  My goal for the marathon is simply to finish it and to have a lot of fun.  I’m certainly not going to qualify for Boston or anything crazy like that.  I know that I will be in the 5 hour finishing group.  And that is fine.  I will be a marathoner!  And a pregnant one at that.

I am really hoping that once I get out of the first trimester, my energy levels start to return.  I have been going to bed around 8:00 every night for weeks and I still have a hard time getting through the day.  Last night I got 11 hours of sleep and I’m still tired!  Next month’s half marathon is right at the transition point from first to second trimester.  I could be completely exhausted running that race, or I could have my energy back.  Obviously, I’m hoping for the latter!  🙂  I should be in a pretty good place for the marathon:  over the extreme exhaustion, but not too huge to be uncomfortable.

It is going to be an interesting journey!

6 thoughts on “News from the doc

  1. Pingback: Looking back | (G)O'Donnell

  2. Pingback: 2010 is winding down | (G)O'Donnell

  3. Congrats. 🙂
    Kevin and I desperately want to get pregnant, but it’s going on 5 years, and nothing. Glad to hear there is hope for someone who is a fellow runner and survivor.

  4. Wow, congrats on the baby! And I am so excited to hear about how training for a marathon preggo is. I have always wondered how that works, but have heard so many amazing stories of women who have. So good for you for asking the question and making sure you had all the info.

  5. Great news, Heather! Sounds like the visit went well. I just read an interview w/Radcliffe & Goucher (that I’m going to send you) in NY Runner magazine, and they said the first trimester was killer, they were both exhausted, etc. But it got better in the second trimester. Also, they listen to their bodies and aren’t worried about time, pace, etc. So it sounds like you have a “pro” attitude about the whole thing, which is good.

    I have to say I was shocked you told Jaden so early. He is going to torture you with questions about his sibling every day for 7 more months. I thought you were supposed to wait to tell little kids until your tummy started getting big enough that they’d notice and ask. Well, I guess you have to live with him bugging you! I think you should find out the sex in advance so that you can at least give him fair warning either way. 😀

Leave a Reply

