Hot and humid

I only worked a half day this morning, so I planned on doing my 8 mile run after work.  It was cool, cloudy and rainy this morning….perfect running weather.  Unfortunately, by 12:30 it was sunny, hot and humid.  It was one of those days when it felt like you were trying to breathe though a wet towel.  Blech!  As I started out, I thought that there was no way I would make it 8 miles in that weather.  But, I actually did better than I thought.  I had a Garmin glitch at the beginning, so my first mile shows as being considerably longer (time-wise) than it actually was.  I ran 7 miles (a little more if you figure in the Garmin glitch).

Stats:

Mile 1: 9:32

Mile 2: 9:48

Mile 3: 10:15

Mile 4: 10:19

Mile 5: 10:08

Mile 6: 10:14

Mile 7: 10:46

Total: 1:13:11  Average pace: 10:09

The later miles had a lot more walking breaks as I started to feel the effects of the heat.  I am grateful to the random grandma who opened her home to me so that I could go to the bathroom.  It was a little strange, but I was in no position to be choosy.

I am also extremely grateful to my good friend who let me come in and stand under her kitchen fan for a few minutes and drink up most of the water in her fridge.

I’m a little bummed that I didn’t get to do my planned 8 miles.  However, I’m not going to let it get me down.

Here are some more pictures from this weekend.  After the Packer’s practice on Saturday, we took the kids to the Packer Experience.  It was basically an air-filled obstacle course.  Jaden had a ton of fun!

2 thoughts on “Hot and humid

  1. Great job on the run and listening to your body for it.

    Also, love the jumparoo place. We have something like that near us and it is really cool. Little M isn’t too fond of it yet though. I think she wonders why the ground is moving. Haha!

Leave a Reply

