It’s official

I wasn’t going to blog today.  I am tired and I didn’t want to bore you all with more stories of exhaustion and hip pain.  But, I just got an email.  And, it made me really happy!!  So I wanted to share:

Congratulations! Your EMS Provider license has been issued.


I have been waiting for this day since January when I signed up for the EMT course.  I studied hard and practiced my skills for hours.  I stressed out over a 3+ hour practical exam (the day before my first half marathon), and prayed hard before taking the written (computer) exam.  Then I waited.   And waited.  And waited some more.  For what seemed like forever; but was really about 8 weeks.

It was frustrating to know that all my hard work had paid off.  I did well in the class and excelled at the exams.  But, I had to wait for the state of Wisconsin to determine that I was official.  And now I am!!  I can actually start getting paid for emergency calls.

Of course, that also means that I will have to make a schedule and stick to it.  No more just turning on the pager when I feel like I could spare a couple hours.  This means that there is the strong possibility I will be awoken in the middle of the night.  Or that I will spend time lovingly preparing a meal for my family and have to run out the door just as it is time to sit down and enjoy it.  Or that I will plan for a nice long run and instead I’ll get to spend my time on the ambulance.

But, this is exactly what I signed up for.  This is why I love the idea of a volunteer ambulance service.  Because there are people who will put their own plans on hold for the good of their neighbors.  That there are people who won’t complain about getting out of bed at 2:00 am to go help a friend.  And now I am part of that community.  And it feels good.

p.s.  There were cheese quesadillas in the cafeteria for lunch today.  I thoroughly enjoyed it.

One thought on “It’s official

Leave a Reply

