Happy Birthday Erika

In honor of the lovely Erika‘s 40th birthday, I decided I had to take part in her virtual race. I absolutely love this idea and I totally plan on doing the same thing when I turn 40.  (Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, right?)

So, the idea behind the Mama Goes Masters goes something like this:

“Mama Goes Masters” Virtual Race

When:  August 25th (or whatever date between August 20-25 that works for you.)

Distance:  You have three options:

  • 4.0 miles in honor of turning 40
  • 8.25 miles in honor of the actual day
  • 40K if you dare.

Cost:  Free

I certainly wasn’t going to run a 40K.  Those people are just plain crazy.  And I only have 25 days until my marathon.  Since I knew I would be running after dinner, and after a long day at work, I wasn’t going to be able to swing 8.25 miles.  So that left me the 4 mile option.  Which worked out really well.  I had 3 miles on the schedule for today, but I can always bust out another mile for a friend!

Unfortunately, I had a very runner-unfriendly dinner of cheesy breadsticks and marinara sauce.  I told you it was a long day at work.  Don’t judge me.  I would have eaten some of the pizza too, except that it had pepperoni on it.  And vegetarians don’t eat pepperoni.  🙂

I started out at a nice, easy pace.  Although I’ve noticed lately that my ‘nice, easy pace’ has gotten slower and slower.  I know that it is because of the pregnancy and the weight gain, but it is depressing none the less.

I tried to pick up the pace about a mile in.  I didn’t end up going a whole lot faster because I was experiencing some lovely cramping.  That is what I get for eating a cheesy, greasy dinner 30 minutes before getting on the treadmill.  I was spacing out in front of the TV so I went a quarter mile further than the 4 miles I planned on.  That also means that I can’t give you an exact finish time.  (easier for me to fudge and tell you I ran 4 miles in 36 minutes….hey, it could happen.)

Happy Birthday Erika!  And have a beer for me.

And check out this photo of Jaden.

Yes, my son is wearing a pizza box.  He did that of his own free will.  We do actually purchase clothing for him.

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Erika

  1. Pingback: Weekend recap | (G)O'Donnell

Leave a Reply

