The white truck

I feel like I’ve had a nice theme going the past couple posts.  PROGRESS!!

I wasn’t planning on stopping at the house today.  I had too much laundry to do, and it seems that when I stop by, I just get discouraged that nothing is getting done.  That was NOT the case today.  Stuff was happening!  It started when I saw this truck parked on the street.

truck

Turns out that it was the company doing the insulation in the attic.  When the bathroom fan overheated, it filled the attic crawl space with smoke.  All the insulation needed to be taken out and replaced.  We weren’t sure how that was going to happen.  The only way to get into the crawl space is through a small opening in the ceiling of the garage.  Since all our belongings are in the garage, we were concerned that they were going to get insulation dust on all of our stuff.  But, apparently, they know what they are doing.

dumpster 2

dumpster 

garage

I never did see this guy’s face.  🙂

Then I noticed something else that looked like progress.

carpet

Those are lovely roles of old carpeting and pad.

front room

And that is where they came from.  I was shocked that the subfloor was so clean.  I remember spending hours on my hands and knees with a putty knife scraping off glued down pad when I pulled the carpet up in Jaden’s room.

flooring

And there is the beautiful flooring that will be going down (and the remnants of that glued down pad).

I even went down into the basement to see how everything looked all set up.

basement

basement 2

There are a total of 11 sets of beams, spaced about 5 feet apart.  Each set has a red crank between them.  I guess things are still on target to begin excavating on Monday and to move the wall on Tuesday.  I’m off both of those days next week, so I am hoping that I will be able to check out what is going on.

On a completely unrelated note, I really intended to run this morning.  But then, Jaden decided to spend an hour in the middle of the night coughing.  Finally I got up and got him a drink of water.  But then it took me a couple hours to fall back to sleep.  Just as I was getting toward dreamland, I had to go to the bathroom.  Lovely.  So, I am completely exhausted and my run didn’t happen.  I guess I’ll try again on Saturday.

Last night, Tim and Jaden played memory.  Jaden loved it.

memory

One thought on “The white truck

  1. Pingback: Week seven since the fire | (G)O'Donnell

Leave a Reply

