Visible progress

Tim went to the house yesterday and there are actual things happening!!  I can’t even express how excited I am.

We’ll start in the bathroom.

bathroom

The window still needs to be replaced.

flooring

I LOVE the flooring.  And I love how it looks with the wall color.

vanity

The vanity is in, but we still don’t know when the countertop and the sink are going to be put in.

baseboards

I’m not sure where all these baseboards came from.  It seems like a lot for just the bathroom, but there aren’t any other ones that have been pulled up.

I was so excited when the dumpster disappeared earlier this week….until I saw this in the driveway last night.  😦  I guess they aren’t done dumping trash out.  I know that they still have a lot of carpeting to pull up.  (When I stopped by the house this morning to drop off the recycling, I noticed that there is half a pallet of laminate flooring in the back of John’s van!!)

new dumpster

trailer

But, the basement is where the real stuff is going on!

loud noises

And it was loud down there.  But that is what happens when you are drilling bolts into concrete.

drilling

The yellow beams were installed first.

yellow beams first 

Those are the beams that are bracing for when they move the wall.

The cranks will do the actual work of moving the wall.

cranks 1st

Then the permanent beams got put in.

permanent beams

Those dark beams will stay in our basement forever.  At some point, we might put a false wall in front of the beams to hide them.

cranks 

insulation

I guess they are replacing the styrofoam insulation.  I wasn’t sure that was going to happen.  It is so ugly, but it will give us some warmth.

backyard

The backyard is getting ready for the excavation.  I’m still not sure when the air conditioning unit will be moved, but they say that the guy will be there to start digging on Monday.

electric

gas

Gas and electric lines have been marked. 

I don’t know what is going on at the house today.  I may stop by and check it out, but I have a ton of laundry to do at my mom’s house.  And this afternoon I am taking her husband down to Marshfield for his dialysis appointment.  He has to go down once a month to the dialysis center and it just worked that I was off work today to help out. 

In other news, The Colby football team is heading to state today.  It is their 2nd trip in three years.  They won the state title back in 1998 and 2008.  The only game I watched this year was the one that I worked at with the ambulance, but I am really hoping that they can pull off a victory this afternoon.

One thought on “Visible progress

  1. Pingback: Week seven since the fire | (G)O'Donnell

Leave a Reply

