Unnerving

It is a wet and cold Monday here, but boy am I excited about what is happening at the house.  I wasn’t sure that the plan for the basement would actually happen today because of the weather.  But…there were more people at my house today than any other day since the fire!!

When I pulled up, the first thing I noticed was that Veolia was there taking the dumpster away.  Yippee!!

loading dumpster

loaded dumpster

Good-bye dumpster!

I ventured out back to see the progress on the excavating.  What I saw was pretty unnerving.

big dirt

digging

Wheels

deep hole

I’m not sure what I was expecting to see, but it wasn’t this.  The hole next to the house is about 12 feet deep.  Jon (the main sub-contractor who has been working on the house and who is standing in the above photo) told me that he could already hear the creaking from the wall being pushed out.  Like I said…unnerving.

Then I ventured into the house.

hallway

entryway

The rest of the carpeting got pulled up this morning…before the dumpster got taken away.  The flooring probably won’t get installed until next week, since Jon is busy helping with the foundation work.

I experienced a very strange sensation walking through the house.  Not only was there an incredible amount of noise coming from the basement, but the floor of my house was vibrating.  Again…unnerving.

I went into the basement to see what was going on.

drilling

The guy in the background is doing some more drilling into the concrete floor of my basement.  From how I understand it, as they adjust the cranks, the permanent beams get pushed along with the wall.  Once they get them in place, they have to be drilled into the floor and the ceiling.  That is how they ‘pin’ the wall in place.  Of course, when it comes to stuff like this, I have a hard time understanding exactly how it works.

installing the last crank

This is the last crank being installed.  It was interesting watching them adjust them.  Each crank would get a partial turn, and you could actually hear things moving.  Then they would move on to the next one and the next one right on down the line.  Then…back to the beginning to do it all over again.

Here is a photo that shows evidence of the wall moving.  it is our electrical box.  It used to be flush with the wall.  Now, you can see a gap.  I don’t know how much bigger that gap will be when I go and look tomorrow.  By the way, does anyone know a good (inexpensive) electrician who can come and move the box for us…and check the connections to the outside box to be sure that nothing was damaged during the moving of the wall??

electrical box

Venturing back outside, I saw them begin to power wash the wall.  I’m assuming this is in preparation to apply the sealant that will fill in the cracks that have formed from the wall moving.

pressure washer

washing the wall

I have been told that the estimated move in date is still December first.  I am not sure how that will happen since today and tomorrow will be entirely devoted to the foundation.  Wednesday will probably be getting the flooring down, then they will be off for the holiday weekend.  That leaves next Monday and Tuesday to get everything finished up.  Not sure it will happen.  I was told that the bathroom window and sink/counter top may not be finished by the time we move in.  The window wasn’t a standard size, so it needed to be ordered.  The counter top was also ordered, but I guess Home Depot hasn’t gotten it in yet.  We’ll see.  I’m not holding my breath, but I can’t wait to get back into my house.

Leave a Reply

