Things I’ve missed

After living in a hotel for two months, I’ve realized that there are certain things about my home that I used to take for granted.

Things like being able to do a load of laundry whenever I want to, instead of having to lug everything over to my mom’s house.  Things like my dishwasher cleaning my dishes so that I don’t have to stand at a little tiny sink to do them.  Things like cupboards full of dishes so that I don’t have to wash the only bowl we have or use plastic forks for every meal.  Things like a pantry and a full sized refrigerator that have the capacity to hold more than half a gallon of milk at a time so that we don’t have to go to the grocery store or a restaurant every time we get hungry.  Things like a garage so that the car windows don’t need to be scraped every morning (our garage is cleaned enough for one of us to park inside).  Things like my stove allowing me to cook a meal.  Things like puppy kisses and cats curled up next to me on the couch.  Things like the ability to be in separate rooms!

Hopefully the plumbers are at the house this afternoon installing the rest of the stuff in the bathroom.  We should have a toilet, sink and shower by the end of the day!  Jon said he’d be back tomorrow to install the new window.  We’ve been splitting our time between the other bathrooms in the house. The one upstairs doesn’t have a shower we can use, so we shower in the basement, but we use the bathroom upstairs to get ready  in the mornings and for our ‘normal’ usage.

I am really looking forward to not taking my bathroom for granted ever again! 

And…tomorrow I’m trying my hand at making fudge. I’ve never made it before, but I’m attending my first ever cookie exchange this weekend and I wanted to bring something different.  I’m crossing my fingers that I found easy recipes.

One thought on “Things I’ve missed

Leave a Reply

