A very Lego Christmas!

After last night’s EMT call, and subsequent late bedtime, I was regretting that I had told my sister and my dad to be at the house by 8:00 this morning.  I was also regretting that I had told them I would have breakfast ready by then.  But, Jaden must have been tired too because he let us sleep in until 7:30!

We let Jaden open one gift before Grandpa and Holly showed up.  I didn’t think he would be able to control himself.

image

image

image

Jaden had to check out the crumbs Santa left behind.  Santa must have been in a hurry to not finish all his cookies!  Winking smile

image

image

This is the coolest Star Wars book.  It shows scenes from the movies and there is actual movement.  Tim and I were enthralled and we kept moving the pages back and forth to see the action.  Awesome gift!

image

And, to go with the stuffed grinch, How the Grinch Stole Christmas!  Classic.

Once Grandpa and aunt Holly arrived (after she had to have her car pulled out of a ditch…and the roads weren’t even slippery), Jaden got to work opening his haul.  And it was quite a haul.  This kid is well loved.

image

image

image

image

image

image

He might be telling grandpa that breakfast is ready.

We paused for breakfast.  I adapted a recipe I had seen a college classmate bragging about on facebook. 

I started with a loaf of french bread that I sliced and placed into a couple of baking dishes.

image

Then I drizzled an egg, milk, cinnamon and baking powder mixture over the top.

 

image

After thoroughly soaking the bread, the pans went into the fridge overnight.

image

This morning, I topped them with a variety of toppings…mostly variation of raspberries, ricotta cheese and bananas…or some combination of the three.

image

Holy yum!  This was so good.  The two pans disappeared in short order. 

After breakfast, there was the task of finishing the present opening.

image

Grandpa takes the prize for the best gift!  Jaden desperately needed a new bike and this one is awesome.  He has been riding it all over the house all day.  We are going to have to clean up the basement this week, so he can ride down there until the snow melts.  I’d love to get those training wheels off this summer.

image

(please ignore the boxes in the background that  still need to be unpacked.  we have been in our house for several weeks, but we still have a few things that need to be unpacked….and quite a few things that need to be put away.)

image

The balloon that came on the bike was a big hit.  Jaden and grandpa went back and forth for quite a while.  I think Grandpa preferred this to going outside and playing in the snow.

image

Finally, Jaden discovered the stockings.  Granted, we had all been hitting the balloon over in that direction trying to get him to see that there were presents in there.

image

image

We departed from the Lego theme to venture into a Tron sub-theme.  I think Tim’s best line of the day went something like this: “What am I going to do when he has his own opinions, rather than me deciding what he will like.”  Smile

image

The sweatshirt is a little big, but I kinda like it.

image

image

The dogs were giving out a lot of love during the present opening ordeal.

image

image

image

image

Then it was time to start assembling the Lego madness.  First up was a project that only had a little over 100 pieces.  It was overwhelming enough for me.  I can’t imagine what I’m going to think when they start putting together the 815 piece AT-AT!

I took a break from the festivities this afternoon to go over to my mom’s house where Holly had her massage table set up.  She was generous enough to give me a short massage.  I definitely needed it.  My back has been so sore and my neck is getting really tight because I’m holding my body in a different posture.  It seems that my center of gravity changes on an hourly basis these days.

After I got home, I noticed that my ankles were sporting some lovely edema.  I think it is too early for me to be dealing with so much swelling.  I’ve tried to keep my feet up for most of the afternoon, and to drink some more water, but I’m not sure how much it is helping.

Some of our favorite people stopped by to pay a visit this afternoon.  My cousins, Jason and Kevin, and their families came over for a little while before heading to their parents house for Christmas.  Jaden had a blast playing with Brady and Makenna.  At one point, he and Makenna climbed up on the top bunk in his room and threw all the stuffed animals on the floor.

1

2

3

Notice that Jaden is still in his pajamas.  He declared today pajama day.  I gotta say that I’m a little jealous.

At the end of a busy couple of days, it is nice to relax with a magazine.

magazine

Tim is getting Jaden ready for bed now.  I won’t be far behind.  After all, tomorrow is another busy day.  We have church in the morning and then Jaden and I will go over to my aunt’s house to spend time with more family…and eat more.  Tim will be spending his afternoon freezing his butt off at the Packer-Giants game in Lambeau Field.  He has never been there before and I am thrilled that he gets to go.  Lambeau is an amazing stadium and I love just being there and soaking in the ambiance.

Oh, and did I mention that Jaden’s birthday is in 4 days?  I’m exhausted just thinking about it.

2 thoughts on “A very Lego Christmas!

  1. Pingback: Looking back | (G)O'Donnell

Leave a Reply

