I have a five year old!

Today Jaden turned five.

Grandpa always sends cards that sing.

When Jaden woke up this morning, I asked him how he liked being five.  He looked at me in all seriousness, and told me that you don’t turn the number until after you eat your birthday cake.  With that logic, I will never eat birthday cake again!  Smile

Of course, there were presents.

image

imageimage

 

imageimage

image

Chutes and Ladders was a big hit!  But Tim and I both noticed that the board looks very different than we remembered it.  And, curiously, Jaden called the game “Shoot the ladders.”

image

Next stop: Professional Bowlers Association!

I remember playing with a similar set of plastic bowling pins and balls in my Grandma’s basement when I was a kid.  Ironically, Jaden will get to play in the same basement.

image

Great minds think alike.  Smile

image

There was cake.  I remembered that I had half a layer cake in the freezer, so I defrosted it and put some frosting on it.  Jaden’s birthday always sneaks up on me right after Christmas and this year I just wasn’t prepared with baked goods.

image

image

We also had to measure Jaden against the closet door.  We do it every 6 months.  Jaden was very excited to get measured.  He even wanted to do that before he opened his presents.  As you can see, measuring is a very technical process in our house.

image

image

I can’t believe how much he has grown in the past couple years.  I can’t believe I have a five year old. 

We are going to have a few people over on Sunday for a little celebration.  I ordered a Star Wars cake for Tim Jaden.  It should be a good time….assuming we can clean the basement up so that the kids can run around.

One thought on “I have a five year old!

  1. Pingback: Looking back | (G)O'Donnell

Leave a Reply

