2010 is winding down

It seems that the end of each year brings about a certain amount of reflection.  I tend to look back at the things I have accomplished, the things I have failed at and a lot of the things in between.  Then I start thinking about resolutions I’ve had in the past and resolutions I might like to have for the next year.

In 2009, my resolution was to read 50 books over the course of the year.  That is a little less than a book a week.  I made it…even though I was finishing the last one in the car on New Year’s Eve as we were driving to my cousin’s wedding.

This year, I made a goal to run a marathon, but it wasn’t really a New Year’s Resolution.  It wasn’t until I had decided to run a half marathon, that the idea of running a marathon even entered my thoughts.  But, I did it.  Actually, I ran two half marathons and a full marathon

My other goal was to run 1000 miles over the course of the year.  This one really hurts because I got so close, but wasn’t able to finish it.  I know that it is mostly because of the pregnancy and the fact that I hurt my knee during a fall at the Noodleini.  I actually haven’t run at all the last 4 1/2 weeks.  I am currently at 922.37 miles for the year and I HATE that I won’t make it to 1000.  What is even worse, though is that I might not start out 2011 very well.  My knee still hurts.  I can’t bend it completely and I can’t kneel on it.  Not to mention the fact that running 7 months pregnant would be very difficult.  Actually, doing pretty much anything 7 months pregnant is rather difficult.

2010 was a pretty good year.  I got a job as a medical assistant and passed my certification test.  I took an EMT class and passed the National Registry exams.  I absolutely LOVE being an EMT and only wish that I could go on more calls, but pregnancy exhaustion and lack of child care prevent that.   I also ran 14 races (5 of them pregnant) and PR’d at the 5K.  Tim and I had the pleasure of running a few races together this year and Jaden even ran two races.

The past year also had quite a few surprises.  Obviously, being displaced from our home for a couple weeks due to the fire, was a huge burden.  But, we also had the unexpected news that we are expecting another babyanother boy.

So, what will 2011 bring?  What are my resolutions for the upcoming year?  Well, I’m still thinking on the resolutions.  I’m sure there will be at least one that is running-related, but I’m also going to remember that I will be having another child at some point in February (which, honestly, can’t get here soon enough).  I am going to keep thinking on the resolutions and I promise to bring them to you soon.  Nothing like making them public to help me stay accountable.  Smile

Leave a Reply

