First days at home

We have been home for a couple days now.  I wish I could say that we are settling into a routine, but with a newborn, routine doesn’t happen for a while.  Oh, he has his routine:  eat, sleep, make squeaky noises, need diaper/clothes changed, repeat.  But our routine is in shambles.  Tim and I are thoroughly exhausted and completely worn out…as we expected.

Last night was especially tough.  Logan decided to cluster feed from about 1:15 a.m. to about 5:00 a.m.  Every time I tried to put him back in the bassinet, he would start to fuss and cry and suck on his hand.  But, try as I might, I just couldn’t get him to eat very well.  You can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make him drink.  Smile

We are having all sorts of problems nursing.  Jaden took a while to get the hang of it, but Logan is taking even longer…and causing me massive amounts of discomfort/pain.  I’m trying to stick it out and train him and hope that things will get better.  But I did have to send Tim to the store this morning to get me some lanolin cream.

This morning I got a shower.  It was lovely.  I stayed in there long enough to almost run out of hot water.

The nursery is also lovely.  Tim worked a little bit today on getting some more stuff hung up on the walls.  Logan hasn’t really been using the nursery yet, because I want him as close as possible at night to nurse.  But, it is nice to know that it will be all ready for him when he is ready for it.

While I was in the shower this morning, this is what Tim was doing.  He was holding Logan on his lap while eating his breakfast and drinking hot coffee…all while using the computer.

Jedi finally got up close and personal with Logan.  I think they will be good friends.

We dug out Jaden’s old bouncy seat.  It doesn’t work anymore, but at least it gives us a place to set him down in the same room with us.

Scrunchy face!!

This afternoon, Aunt Holly made it up from Iowa.  She had wanted to be here for the delivery, but Logan had other plans when he made a quick and early arrival.  But, now that she is here, so doesn’t want to be too far away from him.  If only he would open her eyes more often for her.  Although, she is smitten by his dimple.  Winking smile

Holly is going to stick around for the weekend.  She has already helped Tim clean and organize the nursery and when she showed up…she brought Shamrock Shakes!  Good to have her here.

2 thoughts on “First days at home

  1. I’m so happy to see these photos! Newborns… well, they’re on their own terms. I was surprised that it took about two solid weeks for the nursing to not be incredibly painful this last time with Mikayla! I used the Lansinoh and also had some success with Tender Care™ Hydrogel Pads. Might be worth checking out – and now you can take Ibuprofen, so that’s a benefit!

    Love and prayers to you!

  2. Life with a newborn – it is always on their terms. Hope that he settles into “getting the hang” of breast feeding soon – it will make everything a little bit easier. ENJOY life with the new addition.

Leave a Reply

