Poor baby Logan

172188_1701989184376_1077352563_1832003_1704302_o

Yesterday was Logan’s one week check up at the clinic.  The weather was awful and the road conditions were truly terrible, but we braved it all because we are insane had three appointments in the afternoon and it would have been crazy trying to reschedule them all.  Looking back on it, I am glad that we went down when we did rather than waiting another day or two.  And doesn’t Logan look adorable in his little bear snow suit?  It is HUGE on him.

Tim and Jaden went to Tim’s appointment in oral surgery while I took Logan to pediatrics.  The did all the typical measurements.  He weighed 7 pounds, 11 ounces, so he still isn’t quite up to birth weight.  The nurse practitioner we saw thought that he looked pretty yellow, so she sent us to the lab for a blood draw.  So, off to the lab we went.  Tim and Jaden headed to H & R Block to get our taxes done (yeah refund!!)

Typically, when they need to draw blood from an infant, they poke the heel.  Well, Logan didn’t bleed well enough so they had to go into a vein.  It was painful for me to watch them stick a needle into my tiny little boy.  Yes, I cried.  He wailed.  I couldn’t pick him up fast enough when it was all over.  I just wanted to be able to comfort him and let him know that it was all going to be okay.

After the blood draw, we went back to pediatrics to wait for the results.  Logan had his bilirubin levels checked prior to leaving the hospital.  They checked it the morning we left and it was 12.2 and then I made them check it again about an hour before we left and it had gone down to 11.2.  I felt like we were out of the woods.

I had an idea of what to look for with jaundice because Jaden had it when he was little.  I knew that if he started being really lethargic or stopped eating and pooping that we might have a problem.  Logan was eating pretty well, pooping several times a day and being all around adorable.   I wasn’t too concerned.  I guess I should have been.

His bilirubin levels came back at 19.5.  The clinic has a mandatory admit policy for anything over 20.  I guess we are lucky that we didn’t have an appointment a day earlier.  His levels are probably already on their way down, so if we had come in earlier, we might have had to spend some time in the hospital.

So, while I got the information from the clinic on where I could pick up a bili light to bring home, Tim returned from our tax preparation appointment and sat in the car with Jaden in the clinic parking lot waiting for me to get done.  Then we went to pick up the bili light.  Logan will wear it 24/7 until his follow up appointment tomorrow afternoon.  At that time they will have to do another blood draw to reevaluate his levels.  I’m tearing up already.  I don’t know how I will be able to handle that.  If his levels have gone down enough, we will take the bili light back and come home to resume normal life.  If they are still elevated, we will spend a couple more days with our son glowing like a little glow worm.

175456_1701989784391_1077352563_1832004_4649451_o

In other news, I got on the treadmill for the first time since Logan’s birth.  I walked 2.75 miles at a pretty decent pace.  I desperately wanted to run and it took a lot of will power not to punch the treadmill up and start jogging.  But, I will wait until I am cleared by my doc to start running.  It was nice to just be moving.

Here are some more pics of Logan and Jaden.  I still can’t believe that I have two boys.  This parenting thing is crazy!

175075_1701983264228_1077352563_1831999_4826839_o

175862_1701973223977_1077352563_1831990_3262008_o

(look at how yellow his eyes are.  Poor baby.)

Jaden loves his aunt Holly.

0219011152  0219011153  0219011151

I’m off to curl up with a good book.

image

2 thoughts on “Poor baby Logan

  1. Pingback: Looking back on 2011 « (G)O'Donnell

  2. Pingback: Three Things Thursday | (G)O'Donnell

Leave a Reply

