137 hours and 40 minutes…

image

I finally got to hold him.  And I didn’t want to let go.  I sat and rocked with him for 3 hours, only putting him down when the respiratory therapist came in to give him his nebulizer treatment and chest PT.  Of course, by then I really had to go to the bathroom, otherwise I was going to need a catheter!

You can’t really tell in the photo, but I was crying because I was so excited to be able to hold him.  We had a pretty good time hanging out…and he smiled at me a couple times.  It was fantastic.

Logan’s voice is still really hoarse.  I don’t know how I’m going to hear him when he cries tonight.  They say his voice will come back soon.

I was hoping to be able to feed him this afternoon, but the doctor wants to start him on clear liquids.  So, we are trying to feed him some sugar water from a bottle, but he doesn’t like the nipple.  If he can keep the sugar water down, they will advance to breast milk from a bottle.  I don’t think I will have a chance to nurse him until tomorrow.  But, so far, he isn’t taking the sugar water.  He will take the nipple of the bottle and just kinda ‘gum’ it like he does a pacifier.

If he ends up refusing the sugar water, it means that he will have food withheld until the are 150% sure that he is out of respiratory danger and then they will let me nurse him.  In the meantime, they are continuing the IV fluids and the diuretics to monitor his fluid balance.

The pulled out the catheter this afternoon, so all of his natural openings are free from plastic!  The only thing still in him is the central line, where they are administering his fluids, diuretics, medications and getting blood samples.

We are going to be spending tonight in the PICU…I’ll be back on the cot, since I checked out of the Ronald McDonald House earlier today.  Hopefully, we will get moved back to Peds tomorrow, and they may even take out the central line tomorrow.  I am hopeful that we can go home on Thursday.

There is really nothing better than getting to hold your child and see him smile at you.  I know that I will never take that for granted again.  I pray that you won’t either.

2 thoughts on “137 hours and 40 minutes…

  1. Pingback: Looking back on 2011 « (G)O'Donnell

Leave a Reply

