He’s eating

Well, we skipped the clear liquids.  We skipped the breast milk by bottle and I just nursed Logan!!!  We had to watch him closely to make sure he didn’t start choking, but he did great.  I was a little worried about how he would do…especially since it has been 12 days since I last nursed him.  I shouldn’t have been worried.  Babies know what they are doing.  And, he’s been going to town on the pacifier since he’s been extubated!

He is now on room air (21%) and 2 liters per minute on the vapotherm.  Hopefully, it will come off tomorrow and we can go back to Peds.  And since he nursed so well today, I’m hoping they will take out the feeding tube tomorrow and let him do solely oral feedings.  I promise not to complain when he gets hungry and I have to wake up 3 or 4 times a night to nurse him.  Smile

We spent a lot of time snuggling and just hanging out today.  I will be really happy when I can pick him up and move him without having to contend with four different sets of tubes and wires.  (If we are lucky, two of them will be gone tomorrow.)  But, spending time with Logan in my lap is worth all the hassle of the tubes.  Especially when I have this beautiful face staring back at me.

image

One thought on “He’s eating

  1. Pingback: Looking back on 2011 « (G)O'Donnell

Leave a Reply

