Mother’s Day 2011

I’m one of those people who was never really sure I wanted to be a mom.  I didn’t have a ‘baby’ doll growing up that I pretended to mother.  I didn’t dream of having children to raise (rear…that’s for you…you know who you are).  I didn’t picture myself spending all my free time doing arts and crafts or enjoying the finer moments of PBS television.

Then…this happened:

image

Jaden Colby, born 12/29/05

A few years later, this happened:

image

Logan James, born 2/14/11

So, whether I like it or not, I’m a mom. 

But, you know what happened?  I found out that being a mom is everything I never thought it would be.  It is a lot of what I expected…diapers and sleepless nights and never a quiet moment.  But it is also, smiles and gurgles and hugs and kisses and little feet that march right into your heart. 

I may have never imagined my life as a mother, but now I can’t imagine my life without it.

image

These boys define my life and give me purpose.  I love them and I love being their mom.

One thought on “Mother’s Day 2011

Leave a Reply

