Three Things Thursday

It has been a long time since I’ve posted. 

1.  My little man is three months old already!  Part of me refuses to believe it.

image

He has blessed me with uninterrupted sleep the last two nights.  I hope it continues (*knock on wood*).  Tim thinks it is time to move him out of our room and into his crib, but I’m just not sure I’m ready for that yet.  He’s my baby.  I still have a hard time when other people hold him.  I feel like he is growing up too fast and I’m going to miss something.

 

2.  I ran 8 miles this morning.  The last time I ran 8 miles was the day of my marathon.  Technically, I ran 8 miles three times that day…but who’s counting.  Smile   I have high hopes of running a half marathon on June 18th.  I have no hopes of running it fast, but if I can get through it, I think I will feel comfortable enough to sign up for another marathon in the fall.  I keep saying that I’ll do a marathon this year, but I haven’t actually committed to it yet.  I’m thinking of the Twin Cities marathon in October.  It has some great buzz and people who have run it in the past speak very highly of it.  My only concern is the elevation chart.  Miles 20-23 are uphill.  That is so wrong.  My other concern is that all my miles this year have been on the treadmill (except for Crazy Legs, and that was horrible).

3.  This past week, I celebrated my one year anniversary of becoming a vegetarian.  I actually had to look up the blog post from last year so that I could remember the exact day (May 16th).  Vegetarianism has definitely become a life-style for me.  It has actually been a pretty easy transition for me.  There are times when I have to ask questions about how a food is prepared or what is in it.  It is much easier when we travel…getting out of small-town central Wisconsin opens up many more options in vegetarian cuisine.  Much of my family doesn’t understand why I’ve made this decision…and that is fine with me.  I am not asking them to make the same decision, but I would like them to understand that I have.  In case you’re interested, the first movie I watched (that made the decision to go veg an easy one) was Earthlings.  Great film, though difficult to watch at times.  You can see the whole movie in segments on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

