He’s ba-a-a-ck

Tim finally returned from his trip to New York for his aunt’s funeral.  He left on Friday afternoon.  He was supposed to be back Tuesday night, but unfortunate weather conditions forced him to spend the night in Detroit.  He finally got home mid morning today, while I was at work.  I really missed him.  But I have to admit that I also missed having someone to tag-team with on this parenting gig.

Single parenting is probably the hardest thing in the world.  With a five year old and an infant, I feel like I have been on the brink of a breakdown since Friday.  And I’ve only had to do this for 5 days.  I am honestly in awe of single parents.  I don’t know how they do it.  I don’t know how my mom did it…of course, I was an angel, so it made her job much easier.
There have been so many times when I thought I was going to lose it.  When we got home on Sunday after church, dairy breakfast and shopping, I actually sent Jaden to his room for 10 minutes just so that I could cry.  He was very confused.  He thought that I was mad at him or that I was really sad or that something was wrong.  I didn’t know how to explain to him that I just needed to have a good cry to feel a little better and that afterwards, I would be fine.  So that is what I did.  And afterwards, I felt better (but not quite fine).

Jaden was very sad this morning when he woke up and Tim wasn’t here.  I had told him that daddy would be home when he woke up.  He kept asking where daddy was.  I told him that the flight got canceled and that daddy was stuck in Detroit.

“What’s Detroit?”

“Not where you want to spend a night when you are trying to get home to your family.”

It is going to be hard for me to not want to take a day or two ‘off’ now that Tim is back.  There is part of me that just wants to crawl into a hole and sleep for about 4 days.  Maybe I can schedule a massage or something to de-stress.

Any tips on how to get through the next time I have to do the single-parent thing?  Has anyone else ever just needed a good cry?

One thought on “He’s ba-a-a-ck

  1. Yes, I need a good cry almost every day right now. 🙂

    Our good friend Rebekah took care of another friend’s kids while that friend was in the hospital. Her recommendation was to schedule EVERY moment with the kids.

    I think it will be really hard to let Tim recuperate as well… maybe you can negotiate some time with a family member or sitter?

Leave a Reply

