Brick

Today I did my first brick workout.  If I have any hope of doing a duathlon at the end of the month, I should at least try doing a back-to-back workout.  The duathlon consists of a 2 mile run, a 15 mile bike and a 2 mile run.  Today’s plan was to do a 12 mile bike ride followed by a 2 mile run.

I was nervous going into it because I have heard stories of people doing bricks and just falling apart on the run.  But, I got on my bike and started out.  The biggest problem was that I finally got going about 1:15 and it was quite warm out.  There was a little bit of wind that gave me just enough breeze to be mildly annoying on the uphills, but mostly served to keep me a little cooler.

I did an out-and-back route.  I just rode for 6 miles and then turned around and came back.  My splits during the 12 miles ranged from 3:13-4:29.  There were a couple of pretty decent hills, but I managed the 12 miles in 45:52.  That is about a 15.8 mph average…slightly more that my usual pace. 

When I got back to the house, I rode into the garage and failed to get my left foot out of my pedals before I fell over.  Just call me Grace.  Bike riding is pretty dangerous for me.  Winking smile

I came into the house to change shoes and fill my water bottles, then I was off on the run portion.  My legs were NOT happy with me when I started.  But, the weirdest thing happened.  I figured that my pace would be really slow, but I was moving considerably faster than my normal pace.  I’m a pretty consistent 10:00 minute miler.  Sometimes faster when I run intervals on the treadmill, but usually slower when I run outside. 

Sometime during the first quarter mile, I looked down and saw that I was running a sub-9:00 minute pace!!!  I had to keep telling myself to slow down so that I wouldn’t collapse.  But my legs kept going.  I’m not sure if I have been benefiting from the intervals I’ve been running on the treadmill…or if my legs were just used to the faster cadence of being on the bike so they were trying to keep the same rate going.

Anyway, the first mile was 9:12 (!) and the second mile was 9: 39.  Pretty happy with that.  I’ll have to do another brick (or two) prior to the race to see if I can get off the bike without falling!

Leave a Reply

