Am I still a runner?

This week has had me thinking about my current relationship with running.  I’m not training for any big races right now (although I am doing two of them this month).  I’m not doing a marathon or a half marathon this year.  I haven’t run more than 6 miles in a row (other than one 10K) since May.  I’m not actively working on speed or distance right now.  And I can count the number of times I’ve run somewhere other than my treadmill in the last 6 months on my fingers.

So, am I still a runner?  Or, am I just someone who occasionally runs?  When I was in the midst of my marathon training last year, I definitely considered myself a runner.  But, it took signing up for that race, and running a few longer distance races, for me to think of myself that way.  In reality, I’ve only been running for a little over two years…and for a significant portion of that, I was pregnant.

I don’t feel as hard-core as I did a year ago.  I’m not as determined to get out there and get my miles in.  I don’t have a training plan right now.  My runs are not structured or scheduled.  I usually get on the treadmill and run until I get bored, or one of the kids needs me for something. 

But, I still get antsy if I go more than a couple days without running.  I think I still WANT to be a runner, but my life has taken over for right now.  I’m working more than I was last year at this time.  I’ve been taking some very challenging classes this year.  And then there is the almost-six-month-old cutie who still isn’t sleeping through the night.

I just hope that my motivation and drive and desire comes back.  Maybe that will happen once I get more than 4 consecutive hours of sleep.  I do want to run another marathon at some point.  Unfortunately, right now the thought of anything longer than a 10K just depresses me…because I know I couldn’t do it.  Last year, I felt like I could run a half marathon at the drop of a hat…until I got pregnant. 

Any advice for getting my running groove back?

Leave a Reply

