15 years

Last night was my 15 year high school class reunion.  Seriously…how has it possibly been 15 years?  I don’t feel like I can be that old.

We almost didn’t make it to the reunion.  Logan has an ear infection and has been on antibiotics since Tuesday, but he doesn’t seem to be feeling up to his normal self.  He still pulls on his ear and seems fussier than usual.

Yesterday afternoon, Jaden, who NEVER slows down for even a second, told me that he was going to lay down for a rest.  What?!?  He curled up on the couch, covered himself with a blanket and was out cold in a few minutes.  He woke up an hour later crying hysterically and saying that his head hurt.  I took his temperature and he had a 101.7 fever.  Time for some Tylenol and then he went to his bed and slept for another 2 hours.  When he woke up his temp was down to 100.8.  Better, but not great.  And, he had just slept for more than 3 hours, so I had no idea what time he was going to go to bed at night.

My dad came over to watch the boys and I explained everyone’s issues.  I even left my cell phone with him (he doesn’t have a cell phone and we don’t have a land line), in case he needed to get a hold of us while we were at the reunion.  Fortunately, he survived.  He told us, when we got home, that Logan basically cried the whole night and did everything in his power to avoid going to sleep.  We were also quite surprised to get home at 10:45 and find Jaden still awake.

The reunion was a lot of fun.  There weren’t quite as many people there as I had hoped, but I enjoyed catching up with those who were able to make it.  We spent a lot of time talking about each others’ kids.  At one point, I actually wondered what we talked about 15 years ago! 

There were some people that I don’t think I’ve seen since we graduated and it was great to find out what they were up to now.  I’m glad that we went and I am looking forward to doing it again in another 5 years.  Hopefully, I won’t have two sick kids next time.

2 thoughts on “15 years

  1. Pingback: Looking back on 2011 « (G)O'Donnell

  2. If Logan has been on antibiotics since Tues., and is not getting better, he needs to go back in and maybe needs a different antibiotic. Usually those things should improve after 48 hours of antibiotics.

Leave a Reply

