To run or not to run

That is the question.

I often wonder if I should run when I’m sick.  I’ve read other people’s opinions on whether or not a run would be beneficial or harmful.  Should I rest until I feel better, or should I run in the hopes that the endorphins will speed recovery?

My general rule (and it is one I’ve stolen from I don’t even remember where) is that if the sickness is above the shoulders, it is okay to run.  If the sickness is below the shoulders, rest is the way to go.

Since I’ve been coughing for days, in an attempt to expel my lungs from my body, I decided that today I would rest.  Sad smile  But I don’t have to like it.  Instead, I am spending some quality time with my DVR and a cup of hot tea with honey.

I just wish that I didn’t have to take a sick day so close to a required six week running hiatus.  Yes…I have gotten questions about my upcoming surgery.  I’m working on a way to answer those questions.  But I don’t want to give away more information than you need.  There is such a thing as too much information.

So, do you work out when you’re sick?

One thought on “To run or not to run

  1. I generally don’t work out at all. So I sit on my sofa and raise a cup of coffee to you. And thank you for the fantastic squash advice. And want you to know I’m here if you need to talk. And basically send you a big hug. 🙂

Leave a Reply

