Food, finally!

This morning, I had the most horrible bowl of hospital oatmeal ever.  And it was DELICIOUS!!  I can’t believe how amazing food tasted after not eating anything for 6 days.  I tried not to inhale it.  I wanted to take it easy just in case by body didn’t appreciate what I was giving it.  Fortunately, breakfast was well tolerated.

After I finished my oatmeal, my nurse came in and took out my catheter!!  I have never been so excited to pee.  (Is that more than you wanted to know?)  She also saline locked my IV (they keep the needle in, just in case they need to use it again, but it is all unhooked).  The also switched me to oral pain relievers.  I’m on Vicodin every 4-6 hours.

Then I got to take a shower.  Bliss!  It was wonderful.  I hadn’t showered in 5 days.  It is such a great feeling to be clean!

So, right now, I am not hooked up to anything.  I’m waiting for my lunch to be delivered…veggie burger and baby carrots.  And then I think I’ll take a nap.  I am still pretty tired.  If I am on my feet too much I get exhausted quickly.

I’m a probably going home tomorrow.  I can’t wait to get home and be with my boys and sleep in my own bed.  I know that I will need to take it easy and that will probably be the hardest thing for me to do.  I don’t like to sit still, but I am going to have some lifting restrictions for the next few weeks.  I won’t even be able to lift Logan, so I am definitely going to be needing help taking care of the boys.  Sad smile

But, I’ll be home, so all will be better.

One thought on “Food, finally!

  1. Pingback: Looking back on 2011 « (G)O'Donnell

Leave a Reply

