Happy 6th birthday Jaden

Dear Jaden:

Today, you are six years old.  I am amazed at how fast the time goes.  I remember the day I found out that you existed.  It was Mother’s Day.  You were the best gift I could have asked for.

In six years, you have taught me so much.  You made me realize how important it is to love.  Loving you is completely different from anything else I had experienced.  When you were born, I suddenly realized that I would spend the rest of my life with a part of my heart living outside of my body.  I feel everything through you.  I am disappointed when you are disappointed.  I hurt when you hurt.  I’m happy when you are happy.  I am experiencing a whole new set of emotions.

You are funny.  You make me laugh on a daily basis.  You are energetic and outgoing and you feel emotions fiercely.  You love with such a passion, that I often wonder where it comes from.  Your joy is boundless.  Your sadness is heartbreaking.  You don’t feel anything halfway.  You are all in.  And I love that about you.

I am so blessed to be your mom.  I am so lucky to be able to watch you grow up and learn.  I get to see you as you change.  And it is amazing.  I love how your eyes light up and you get so excited when you learn something new.  I love being able to see your imagination at work.  You create entire worlds and then they come to life through your toys, or Lego, or any other medium that you can use to express yourself.

And I love that you are growing up.  And I hate that you are growing up.  I remember how you came into this world.  You were stubborn, even then.  You really made me work hard.  I should have known that you were trying to prepare me to be your mom.  It has never been easy, but it has always been worth it.  You will never be my little baby anymore.  And, soon, you won’t want to be my little boy anymore.  I’m so glad that you have reassured me that six year old boys still like to snuggle with their mom.  I’m not ready to give that up just yet.

I know that you are going to love being six years old.  You are going to continue to learn and grown and love and be creative.  And I am going to be there to see it.  And then I’m going to marvel at how my little baby has gotten so big in such a short time.

I love you, Jaden.  I love watching you grow into the boy that God wants you to be.  I love that I get to be your mom.

One thought on “Happy 6th birthday Jaden

  1. Pingback: Looking back on 2011 « (G)O'Donnell

Leave a Reply

