Looking ahead to 2012

After looking back at the year that was, the logical thing is to look ahead to the next year.  Last year, I set some resolutions.  I wanted to run 1,000 miles in 2011.  Well, I fell REALLY short on that one.  I had hoped to get closer (I had over 900 miles in 2010), but my body didn’t recover after childbirth very quickly.  I was also challenged to find time to run…what with work and school and taking care of an infant.  I managed to run a little more than 400 miles.  I added another 200 or so miles on the bike.  2012 is the year I WILL hit 1000 miles.

In 2011, I had planned to run another marathon.  Once again, that didn’t happen.  I didn’t get selected for the ING New York City marathon.  I had thought about running either Milwaukee or Twin Cities, but when my body took its time recovering after having Logan, I had to let go of the idea of running a marathon.  This time, I am determined.  I have a friend who wants to run Chicago in October.  I’m already working on my half marathon training plan for April.  In a few weeks, I’ll take a look at starting on the marathon training plan.

My other running resolution for 2011 was to incorporate speed work into my running.  I can’t say that I was very specific with this.  I did work on increasing my speed and managed to achieve a faster ‘easy’ pace.  I also set a new PR in the 5K.  This year, my training plan has some specific speed work built in.  I’m really hoping to PR in the half marathon and the marathon this year.  Any PR’s in the shorter distances would be an added bonus.

Additionally, I plan to do a couple more duathlons in 2012.  Nothing specific in the way of resolutions, just hoping to get more consistent with miles on bike.

In non-running related news…my biggest goal for the year is to (finally) start the nursing program.  I was horribly disappointed when I found out that I wouldn’t be able to do the one year BSN program at UW-Oshkosh (because of classes that didn’t transfer).  I am taking a 3 week course in January that is the last (!) of the prerequisites required for the RN program at the tech school.  I will take an entrance exam in March and find out by summer if I can begin the program in August, 2012.

Leave a Reply

