Of Dogs and Boys

Not quite as poetic as “Of Mice and Men,” but that title was already taken.

So, Logan came home from the hospital yesterday.  He only had to spend one night (yippee) and part of his birthday.  It really sucks to be in the hospital on your birthday, but there are some amazing people who did everything they could to make it a good day for him.

They brought him toys to play with.

They came in and did music therapy with him.  He loved it!!

     

They brought in a ton of gifts for him to open.  He actually made quite a haul…lucky kid.

They put up a banner outside his room.

The people at the hospital were fantastic.  I couldn’t have nicer things to say about them (except for the one resident who decided to barge into the room at 3:00 am, turn on all the lights and start asking all sorts of questions.  I hope he has a child who refuses to sleep through the night until high school.).

But, as wonderful as everyone was, it is infinitely better to be home.

We are still doing albuterol treatments every 4 hours.  That will continue at least until his follow up appointment on Friday.  We also have to do another nebulized medicine each evening.  He doesn’t like the nebulizer, so it can be a challenge.

Last night was pretty difficult. Logan was up at 3:15, so I did an albuterol treatment and gave him a bottle and put him back to bed.  Jaden woke up at 4:45 with a stomach ache.  When I went into his room, I saw that he had thrown up all over his bed.  Fun times.  I got him cleaned up, and his bedding changed and then he wanted me to lay with him until he fell asleep.  Right.

When I went in to check on Jaden this morning, he seemed fine.  I asked him if he wanted to go to school and he said yes.  I asked how his stomach ache was.  He actually denied throwing up last night.  I guess it wasn’t too traumatic for him.  I half expected to get a call from his teacher today, but nothing yet.

Oh…about the dog (in the title), Jedi has found a new home.

We have talked about getting rid of him for a while.  He is a nice dog, but he can get a little growly around kids.  He has actually bitten each of the boys.  He got Jaden when Jaden was about 2 years old.  And he nipped at Logan a couple months ago.  It is always super stressful for me whenever we have people over, especially kids, because I am on high alert, being sure to watch Jedi so that the kids don’t make any sudden movements around him.

Last Sunday, my dad came over and told me that there was a lady on his mail route who had recently lost her dog.  She was looking for an older dog, a small dog, something to keep her company.  I told dad that he could give her my phone number.  Today, she called and came up to meet Jedi…and she took him home with her!

She is a retired school teacher and she will be able to spend much more time with him than we ever could.  She’ll be able to take him for walks in the summer.   I think he will be very happy there.  I hope she will be happy with him.  But, if she isn’t, I gave her an out.  She can bring him back at any time.  I’m a little worried about how Jaden will react when he gets home from school.

I still have a post I’m working on about Logan’s first birthday.  Maybe I’ll be able to get that up before the end of the week.

I can’t believe it is only Wednesday.  How has your week gone so far?

2 thoughts on “Of Dogs and Boys

  1. Pingback: 2012 Year in Review « (G)O'Donnell

  2. My week?…I learned how to get dressed with only one hand. I learned that yet another narcotic gives me an adverse side effect,(itching). I learned that my husband is a pretty good caregiver.

Leave a Reply

