Alumni tournament

This weekend is the bi-annual alumni basketball tournament in the bustling metropolis of Colby.  It is the time when all the hometown boys trek back to town and pretend they are still teenagers.  They drink a bit of beer and try to play ball the same way they did 15+ years ago.  it is great fun to watch.

I started the day by watching my beloved class of ‘96 lose in overtime to a group of kids who were in Kindergarten when we graduated.  We also lost the second game…to kids who were barely out of diapers when we graduated!  We were able to pull off a victory in the third game of the day on a last second shot by my neighbor!  (The team we beat was the oldest team we had played all day…and they were still in elementary school when we graduated.)

I was really excited because this year, the organizers were offering a women’s exhibition game.  The women aren’t allowed to play with the guys…under the logic that on the years opposite the men’s basketball tourney, the women play an alumni volleyball tournament.  That is all well and good, if volleyball is your thing.  It isn’t my thing.  So, I decided to lace up my shoes and play in my first organized basketball game since intramurals in college…12 years ago. 

To be completely honest, I don’t think I can count on one hand the number of times I have touched a basketball in the last decade.  While I wasn’t afraid that I wouldn’t be able to keep up (I’m a runner, and in decent shape), I had no idea if I was coordinated enough to play ball. 

We had 12 girls show up and, as I expected, I was the oldest one there.  The next oldest was a girl 2 years younger than me.  We each have two kids.  as it turned out, the teams were divided as such:  2009 vs. everyone else.  I don’t know why we agreed to this. Looking back on it, letting five girls who played together for years, not that long ago, play against a bunch of girls who learned each others’ name three minutes before tip-off may have been an unfair advantage. 

As expected, we got slaughtered.  But, on the bright side, I don’t believe that I humiliated myself too much.  I had five points…1/3 of our total.  Sad smile  I even made a free throw.  When was the last time that happened?!?  But, even more important, I had a great time.  I will definitely do this again in two years.  I’m sure we can find more people to play if we give more notice than we did this year.

The boys finish up their tournament tomorrow.  My class of ‘96 is in the consolation bracket, but I have faith they will do well…assuming they don’t party too much tonight.  Smile

Leave a Reply

