Rest days

I took the last two days off running.  It has been a long time since I’ve taken two days off in a row.  But, my body was begging for rest…so I (reluctantly) listened.  Now, I have two more days this month to run 7 miles.  That will put me at 100 miles for the month of April.  I don’t remember the last time I ran 100 miles in a month.  It has been well over a year…probably during my last marathon training plan.

This means that the speed-work intensive training plan that I put together for the Bellin Run in June has already been adapted.  That’s okay.  I’ll get back to the letter of the law plan on Tuesday or Wednesday next week.

I’m currently reading Bart Yasso’s book.

My Life on the Run: The Wit, Wisdom, and Insights of a Road Racing Icon

This guy has had an amazing life.  He has been able to go so many places and experience so many things.  And he has done it all with an amazingly positive attitude…even when life throws him a curve ball.  He is a great story teller and I would highly recommend this book to anyone…runner or not. 

Last night I read the chapter on how he developed the Yasso 800’s as part of a marathon training plan.  I’ve heard about Yasso 800s and I know people who have bitched about ran them.  But I never really looked into what exactly they were or how they were supposed to be run as an indicator of marathon performance. 

After reading that chapter, I can say that I completely understand why people will curse his name during this workout!  The workout consists of TEN 800s.  TEN!  With 400 meter recoveries.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I love a nice set of 800 meter intervals.  In fact, it is one of my favorite workouts.  But…ten of them?!?  He’s insane.

That being said….I can’t wait to try it.  Winking smile

Have you ever done a set of Yasso 800s?  What am I in for?

Leave a Reply

