My life as a stay-at-home mom

I’ve been doing this stay-at-home mom thing for about a month now.  Honestly, I don’t know how ladies do this every day…for years (decades!).  I am not cut out for this.  I miss working.  I miss adult conversation.  And I only have two kids….and one of them is in school all day. 

Anyway, here is a glimpse of what a typical day looks like.

6:00 a.m. Tim’s alarm goes off.  He hits snooze.  I roll over.

6:09 a.m.  Tim’s alarm goes off again.  I gently kick nudge him to remind him that his alarm is going off.  I roll over.

6:30 a.m. Jaden gets up and loudly announces that he is awake.  I roll over.

6:48 a.m.  Logan is fussing in his crib.  I finally drag myself out of bed, go to the bathroom, and then get my adorable toddler changed and ready for his day.

7:15 a.m. Tim leaves for work.

7:16-7:45 a.m.  Fight with Jaden to get him ready for school while trying to feed Logan some breakfast.

7:48 a.m. Take Jaden to school.

7:51-7:55 a.m. Sit in the drop-off zone at school wondering why it takes Jaden forever to get his butt out of the car.  Seriously, 6 cars drove up, dropped off their kids, and drove away in the time it takes my 6 year old to get out of the car!

8:00-8:45 a.m. Eat my own breakfast, typically while constantly providing snacks to Logan, who seems to eat his weight in graham crackers every day.  Put in a load of laundry.

8:45-11:00 Play with Logan, according to the above rules.  Occasionally stop to provide him with more snacks.  If he is playing alone, consider what I will make for dinner.  Move laundry to the dryer.  Sometimes I will feel really ambitious and I will clean something.  My favorite is chasing Logan with the vacuum cleaner.  It’s hysterical…for me!  Go grocery shopping…with a toddler (loads of fun).

11:00-11:15 Give Logan a glass of milk and put him down for his nap.  Breathe.  Listen to the silence.

11:15-12:00 Run.  Smile

12:00-12:45 Shower, eat lunch, accomplish the myriad things that need to be accomplished.  Fold laundry.  Leave it on top of the dryer for a minimum of 6 days, or until everyone runs out of clean socks and underwear.

12:45-1:15 Retrieve Logan from his nap, feed him lunch. 

1:15-2:30 Play with Logan.  Occasionally get him a snack…have I mentioned that the kid likes to eat? 

2:30-ish Tim comes home. 

2:30-3:30 Something usually happens at this time.  I can’t seem to remember what it is.  I am usually in a haze by this point because I haven’t had any adult conversation all day and I am covered in half-slobbered graham crackers. 

3:30 Go pick Jaden up from school.

3:45-4:00 Help Jaden with his homework.  Make his lunch for the next day.  Contemplate dinner.

4:45-5:15 Make dinner.  Repeatedly tell the rest of the household that dinner is ready.  Get frustrated because no one listens to me the first time.

5:15-5:45 Eat dinner with family.  Pick up sippy cup from the floor a minimum of 387 times.  Cajole Jaden to finish his dinner. 

5:45-6:00 Clean up dinner.  If Tim does this, Smile

6:00-7:00 Play with the kids, read a magazine, make Tim’s lunch for tomorrow.

7:00-7:45 Get both kids ready for bed and put them to sleep.  Smile.

8:00-9:00 Relax with Tim on the couch and watch something that we have on the DVR.

9:00-9:30 Randomly stalk facebook, catch up on emails, finish things that need to be done.  Get ready for bed.

10:00 Fall asleep to the sound of Tim playing Star Wars on the computer in the other room.

Seriously, I am so not cut out for this.  I miss the camaraderie of being around other adults all day.  I love my kids, but I love them more when I am given a chance to miss them.  I really hope I am able to find a job soon.  And…kudos to you women who have dedicated your lives to staying home with your children.  You rock!

One thought on “My life as a stay-at-home mom

  1. Yep, that sounds about right. 🙂 I will be praying for you to get that job you’re craving… and be praying for you in the meantime. (I will say, something kicked in about 7 months into the full-time stay at home/ homeschool thing I have going on and I started to really enjoy it! Now I have serious doubts about whether I would enjoy working more… except I know I’d prefer to be minus baby slobber and screaming fights all the time!)

Leave a Reply

