Stalled

I’m doing push ups.  “Real” push ups.  On my toes…not on my knees.  Not that there is anything wrong with that.  I watched a video of Michelle Obama and Ellen Degeneres doing push ups.  They were pounding them out like nothing.  (Granted, they have personal trainers and all sorts of other people who take care of some of the ‘daily’ part of their lives.)  But, in order to pound out push ups like that, you need to train for a while.  You need to have a certain level of fitness.

So, I decided that I would train.  I would practice doing push ups, until I could do 25 of them in a row, like Ellen and Michelle Obama.  Because I’m cool like that.

So, I found an app on my phone.  Seriously, there is an app for everything.  When I was in labor with Logan, I timed my contractions with an app on my phone.  (Because I’m cool like that.)

I started by imputing how many ‘real’ push ups I could do in a row.  Four.  Yep.  Hard-core, right?  I had quite a ways to go.  But, I diligently practiced.  I do 5 sets of push ups every other night.  I’m up to 63 total push ups.  That’s pretty cool.  I don’t do 63 push ups in a row.  But, I do a total of 63 (15-13-10-10-15). 

Here is my problem.  At the beginning, I was rapidly improving.  I went from only being able to do four push ups, to doing sets of 8 or 10 or 15.  But, now I’m stuck.  I can’t seem to get past this plateau.  I am able to get through my five sets, but that last set of 15 is brutal.  There are a few mid-set breaks.  (and when you are doing push ups, a mid set break is basically a plank…that’s not really much of a break.)

I am starting to get discouraged that I haven’t seen as much progress lately.  I want to keep getting better.  I have a goal of being able to do 25 consecutive push ups before the Tough Mudder in September.  I don’t know why I don’t feel like I’m getting in stronger. 

Does anyone have any suggestions?

One thought on “Stalled

  1. u need to do weighted ones or decline…..reps will go way down but u’ll build more strength and b able to do more regular push ups

Leave a Reply

