Running Times

I have been running for a little over three years.  I ran my first race in July of 2009.  It was a 5K and I finished in 30:06…and swore I would never run again.  Since then, I have run approximately 35 races.  I’ve taken about 3 and a half minutes off my 5K time, more than 4 minutes off my 10K time, more than 9 minutes off my half marathon time and ??? off my marathon time (TBD October 7th!)

My first ever race.  I’m wearing a cotton tank top!

I’ve only been doing speed work since about February of this year.  I bring this up because I am starting to wonder what I’m capable of.  Today, I did a training run of 4×800 meter intervals with 400 meters of recovery in between.  My recovery pace has increased by about 30 seconds/mile.  My interval pace has increased by about 1:00/mile.  During my run today, I noticed that my time at the 5K mark would have been a new PR for me!  During a training run!

My most recent race (10K PR).

It makes me want to run a 5K and see what I can do.  I wonder what would happen if I ran a balls-to-the-wall, all-out, run-til-I-puke 5K.  I know I could beat my 26:46 time from last fall.  (I wasn’t even doing speed work then.)  But, what could happen?  Could I run a sub-26?  Could I run a sub-25?

The problem is that I don’t know when I will get a chance to test this.  I am currently only signed up for one 5K this year.  It is the Packers 5K on July 28th.  I don’t plan on pushing for a PR that day because it will be my second race of the day.  The Packers race starts at 6:30 pm.  I am doing the Hub Cities Duathlon in the morning that day.  So, as you can see, I won’t exactly be ready for a PR attempt.  (Who does two races in one day?)

There are other 5Ks in the area in August and September, but I am focused on my marathon training, and I don’t want to just run a 5K when I have a 20 miler on the schedule.  I know that I could add the remaining miles after the race, but knowing that I have to do that might keep me from gunning for the PR.  And, in reality, the marathon is really important to me, so I want to respect the training.

There are a couple 5Ks that I usually run in November, so depending on how my marathon recovery goes, I could try for a PR at one of those events.  One of them is the Noodleini, where I set my current PR last year.  It is a good course for a PR…nice and flat.  Or, there is the Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving.  That would be a nice holiday treat. 

I guess, I’ll just continue the speed work throughout my marathon training.  I’ll gauge how I feel in the weeks after the marathon (Tim’s first half marathon is tentatively scheduled for 2 weeks after my marathon…and I plan on running that race with him).  If nothing else, I’ll just ramp up the speed work again next year and shoot for a PR then.  I just hope I don’t lose my motivation.  Quick, say something motivating!!

Leave a Reply

