Race(s) preview

This weekend, I’m doing something I’ve never done before.  I’m doing two races on the same day!  Crazy, right?

Actually, they are both events that I have done before…just not on the same day.

Saturday morning, I will be loading up my bike and heading to Marshfield for the Hub City Duathlon.  I did this race last year and had a blast!  It was my first ever duathlon and I learned so much from the experience.  They are making a couple changes to the course this year.  First, they have changed the run courses a bit and they switched directions on the bike course.  That totally makes sense.  The bike course is basically a big square.  They switched it this year so that instead of making all left turns, we are making all right turns.  I guess that was easier for law enforcement as they are patrolling the intersections.

Another change (even more important) is the earlier start time.  Last year, the event started at 10:00 (in July?!?).  They moved it up to 9:00 this year.  I would like to see it start even earlier…it is supposed to be in the 80s on Saturday and the bike course offers no shade at all.

I finished the race in 1:35:52 last year.  I would like to be able to beat that this year, but I am not going to set any time goals.  After all, it is only my first event of the day.  Winking smile  But, I think I figured out how to use the multisport option on my Garmin, so I guess my goal is to get accurate information. 

After the Hub City Duathlon, I will come home, shower and pack for a trip to Green Bay.  As soon as Tim gets done with work, we will drive over to Lambeau Field for the third annual Packers 5K.  We ran this event two years ago and this year, they changed it to an evening start time!  The race starts at 6:30 p.m., so it worked out perfectly for us.  The race coincides with the start of training camp (!!!) every year. 

This race is the only 5K I have scheduled during my marathon training.  I would be interested to see how fast I can run it, but I’m not going to push the time.  I will have already done one event and sat in a car for a few hours.  Instead, the goal for this race is to enjoy myself.  Tim and I are going to run it together and hopefully, he will remember to stay with me at the finish line.  (He has a tendency to hang with me for the entire race and then try to outrun me at the finish.  I don’t really care, but I would love to have a nice photo of us crossing the finish line together…without some random person between us.)

After the Packers 5K, we are going to spend the night with my cousin’s family and then take a leisurely day on Sunday.  We have grandparents who will be watching the boys and we are going to enjoy some much-needed time together.  I hear there is a beach in Appleton with a couple small hiking trails, or (there is rain in the forecast) we might take in a movie.

It is going to be a crazy-busy-exhausting weekend.  I am REALLY looking forward to it!

What are your plans?

Leave a Reply

