Green Bay Packer 5K race report

Pre-race excitement!

Tim and I did this race two years ago.  it was the first year of the event, and it was a lot of fun.  There is something special about running a lap of Lambeau Field…especially when everyone is excited about training camp starting.

The first year we ran it, there were about 1500 runners.  This year, there were almost 6000!  Growth is good, but this race (in it’s current state) is quickly outgrowing itself.  They started the event with a wave start, but the streets were still REALLY crowded.  There is a sharp left turn before you finish the first half mile and to say it was congested would be an understatement.  I think the course itself is nice…relatively shaded and flat with pretty decent crowd support.  But, they need to do something to make it less congested.  I think having more waves at the start and spreading them out a little more would do a lot to alleviate the crowded conditions.

My goal for this race was to try to keep up with Tim.  After the duathlon that morning, I was sure that I was going to be tired.  Tim wanted to try to PR and I was going to do my best to finish with him.

As expected, my legs were tired.  But, I was able to stick with him.  I didn’t spend much time looking at my watch because I was afraid that if I took my eyes off the road in front of me, I would end up running into someone.  We ended up having to do some weaving (for almost the entire race) to be able to keep our pace, but we did it!  Tim got his PR!  Incidentally, so did I.  My previous 5K PR was from the Noodleini last November (26:46)  We finished this race in 26:29.

I really don’t know how I managed a PR.  I was tired from the race in the morning.  I wasn’t pushing the pace or trying to PR at all.  I am really amazed at how my body is responding to training.  Speed work WORKS, folks!  The 8:25 pace was challenging, partly because of how tired I was.  But it isn’t all that much faster than my 10K PR pace of 8:35.  I don’t think I’ve reached the limits of what my body can do in a 5K.  But, I won’t be able to find out for a while.  This was the only 5K on my calendar until November.  And the weather in November can be challenging in Wisconsin.  I guess I’ll just keep training and see what happens.

I like that we were able to get negative splits.  I think that is mostly from the massive congestion at the beginning.  We were destined to get faster as there was a little more room.

Post race glow!  I am super-proud of Tim for his PR.  He hasn’t specifically trained for speed this year and I think this PR is a result of his natural progression as a runner over the past two years.  He has also lost some weight and I think that has made him faster, too.  I think he probably has a faster race in him somewhere.  We’ll see what the next 5K brings…and if I can convince him of the benefits of speed work. 

There are my stats for the race.  I have to say I am pretty excited about those results.  They are no where near middle-of-the-pack!  I don’t think I have ever been in the top 10% of a race that big!

3 thoughts on “Green Bay Packer 5K race report

  1. Pingback: 2012 Races « (G)O'Donnell

  2. Pingback: 2012 Year in Review « (G)O'Donnell

  3. Pingback: July update « (G)O'Donnell

Leave a Reply

