Counting down to marathon day

The marathon is only 60 days away.  It is certainly approaching quickly, but it still seems early for the barrage of mini-injuries that seem to creep up as races get nearer.

Since yesterday, I have been dealing with this twinge-y knee pain behind my right knee.  I ran some intervals yesterday, and I had no pain while running.  But I could definitely feel it for the rest of the day.  Today, I ran an easy 4 miler.  Again, no pain while running, but I’ve dealt with it since then.  I’ve iced twice this evening and I’ll probably do it again in the morning before I get my run in.

This is the second knee issue I’ve had in the past couple weeks.  During my 18-miler a few weeks ago, my left knee started hurting during the last three or four miles.  I think that was a fluke, because I haven’t had to deal with it since.

I’m hoping that this current knee issue is minor and goes away quickly.  I’m going to see how it feels tomorrow before I decide what type of workout to do.  If the knee is still tender in the morning, I’ll probably just do an easy 4 miles.  If it feels better, I might do the middle two miles a bit faster.  Either way, I’ll be icing after the run.  Friday is a planned day off.

Even though the race is still two months away, I feel like I am getting close to the end of my long training runs.  This weekend, I am ‘only’ running 12 miles.  For this training plan, I have spread my long runs out a bit.  Instead of doing a long run every weekend, I’m doing them every other weekend.  The plan was designed to give my body a bit more rest.  So, my next long run will be another 20 miler next weekend.  For my first marathon, I did one 20 miler and one 22 miler.  This time I’m doing two 20 milers and a 22 miler.  So, after my next 20 miler next weekend, I’ll do an 8 miler then a 22 miler.  I think the 22 miler is really important to my psychological training. 

It seems weird that I only have two long runs left before the taper.  Race day is getting closer!

Leave a Reply

