Normal routine

Is anyone else having a hard time believing that it is the end of September?!?

I’m fully entrenched in nursing school.  It takes up about 87% of my free time.  The remaining 13% is divided among my running, family, working, EMT-ing, laundry, feeding my family, and the other miscellany of life.

Nursing school is still really overwhelming.  There is always something that I should be working on, reading, studying, etc.  I’ll just warn you now…the blogging will be sporadic for the next two years.  Smile

I have been trying to settle into a routine.  Mondays I’m up early to head to Wausau for my Nursing Skills class (I have to leave the house by 6:00 am).  Last week I performed a head to toe assessment that comprised 15% of my grade.  I did well.  I am usually in the classroom until 1:00.  After commuting back home, I try to get a little bit of homework done before it is time to pick up the kids.

On Tuesdays, I go to the satellite campus in Spencer.  It is much closer, and I can drop Jaden off at school and Logan off at the sitter’s before heading in.  The classes on Tuesdays (Nursing Fundamentals and Pharmacology) are taught in Wausau, but because they are strictly lecture, I am able to go to the local campus and participate through Interactive TV.  While it is much more convenient to attend in Spencer, I am the only one who goes to that campus. 

All the other satellite campuses have at least 4 students.  This becomes a problem when it is time to discuss in a group and when the time comes to do our Pharmacology group project.  I am a bit frustrated that it worked out this way.  I wish that there were other students in Spencer with me.  I think it would enhance my learning.  However, since my Tuesday afternoons are busy, I can’t take the time to drive to Wausau for these classes.

After class on Tuesday, I am on call with the ambulance service for the next 12 hours.  It has been working well so far.  I have class until 11:50 and my shift starts at noon.  It gives me just enough time to get home.  My plan is always to work on studying and homework until it is time to get the kids, but I usually get distracted with trying to do stuff around the house…empty the dishwasher, do some laundry, etc.  I also try to get in a few miles on the treadmill.

Wednesdays, I don’t have class.  I keep the kids out of daycare and I take Jaden to school.  Logan and I get to spend our days together, which means that I typically don’t get any studying done, except when he is napping.  Nap time is the two hour time frame when I can run, shower, eat and study. 

Thursdays, I am back in Wausau for my Clinical (leaving the house by 6;00 am).  We are at a Long term care facility and each of the 8 of us have been assigned to a different resident.  There are different assignments that will evaluate our ability to assess, diagnose and plan care for our client.  I am usually in Wausau until a little after 1:00.  After I commute home, I again try to get some homework done, but again, I tend to get distracted by the minutia that needs to get done.

Fridays are the other day I don’t have class.  The kids are with me, and Logan and I get to hang out.  Today we ran some errands and baked a loaf of bread.  His nap was short, so I didn’t get much studying done.

Occasionally, on Wednesdays and Fridays, I’ll work.  I am only working casually right now, which works well for my class schedule, but not so well for our financial bottom line.

Saturdays are my day with both kids.  Jaden is off school, Tim is working.  I try to have some fun with the boys, but the reality of all the stuff that needs to happen around the house, usually takes priority.  For most of the summer, I would be doing my long training runs on Saturday mornings and Tim would drop the boys off at grandma’s house on his way to work.  It was a wonderful situation.  After my run and shower, I would go pick up Logan and Jaden would hang out with grandma for a few hours to help her get her stuff done.

Now that I’m not doing my long runs, the boys don’t get that time with grandma.  Jaden really misses it.  He has certain jobs that he always does at grandma’s and he takes them very seriously.  It is his job to help her get the garbage together and go to the dump.  The man who works at the dump expects to see Jaden every Saturday morning.  One time last spring, we saw the man who works at the dump at the store.  Since I don’t go to the dump, I don’t know this man.  But, he came right up and started talking to Jaden and called him by name.  Jaden’s eyes lit up and he jumped right into the conversation.  it took me a minute, but from their conversation, I was able to put the pieces together. 

Sundays are church days.  And football days.  And family time.  But it also usually ends up being study time.  I also end up doing most of my studying in the evenings after the boys are in bed.  It means that Tim and I don’t get to spend a lot of time together in the evenings, but I am going to do my best to set aside at least one night when I won’t be doing homework.  That means I am going to have to make better use of the time that is available to me.

I know that I can get through this, but it is going to be stressful.  My goal is not to let the stress be so overwhelming that I forget to have fun along the way.

How do you guys manage stress?

Stay tuned…my marathon goals post is in the works.  I’m nervous to state my goals.

Leave a Reply

