I did it

Goal achieved!  And with plenty of time to spare.

Back in January, I set a goal to run 1000 miles in 2012.  I had also set this goal in 2011 and in 2010.  I failed to meet in in both of those years.  I blame pregnancy and injury.  But this year is different. 

As of today, I have run 1002 miles.  I finally reached my goal!  And there are about 7 weeks left.  I’ll be adding to that total. 

I have to say that I am proud of myself for doing this.  I know that there are TONS of people who run many more miles that I do, and much faster.  But this is a specific goal that I have had for a few years.  I haven’t been able to achieve it until now.  But, instead of getting discouraged when I didn’t get there, I refocused every year.  I didn’t give up.  I kept trying.  And you know what?  It makes the success taste even sweeter.

Another thing about accomplishing a goal, is that no one can take that away from you.  And, accomplishing goals gives you great practice at accomplishing goals.  Think about it….  If you know that you worked hard at something and you achieved it, you can draw upon that experience the next time you are facing a tough challenge, you can remember how many times you have already overcome difficult things to reach a goal.

I’m a big fan of celebrating when you accomplish something.  You may even motivate or encourage someone else if they are struggling toward a goal.

What goals are you working toward?  How can I encourage you?

3 thoughts on “I did it

  1. Pingback: 2012 Year in Review « (G)O'Donnell

  2. Pingback: November update « (G)O'Donnell

Leave a Reply

