Countdown!

I am anxiously counting down to the end of the semester.  These last few months have been filled with stress and studying and skills practice and more studying and more stress.  Of course, I also met some really cool people who I get to go through the rest of this nursing program with.

Today, I have two exams.  (I passed the first one!)  Next Tuesday, I have two finals.  Then, I have a wonderful 6 weeks off!  I have learned a lot this semester.  But, I can’t express how much I am looking forward to this break.  I know that I desperately need it.

When I get stressed out, I am not the most pleasant person to be around.  I am short with my kids, I am short with my husband, I do even less housework than usual.

I need this break to reconnect with my kids and to enjoy some time with my husband.  He is taking off work the first three Mondays in January.  My dad doesn’t work on Mondays, so he will come and watch the kids and Tim and I can have a day together.  We are planning on watching some movies (matinees=cheap date) and going out to lunch.  If the weather is nice, maybe we can even do something outdoors.

I am also looking forward to doing some reading for fun.  I literally have a stack of magazines on my nightstand.  I am so far behind on my Runner’s World.  I can’t wait to get caught up on that.  I also have some books that I want to read.  Some are running-related, some are fiction.  I think I need to escape into a good book for a while.

And, if I can find the time (and the motivation), I am going to try to prep some meals to stick in the freezer.  That way, I will be less stressed out next semester if I can just pull something from the freezer and have it be dinner.  No planning=less stress!

I’m not going to lie.  I am also looking forward to catching up on the the TV shows that have piled up on the DVR.  I’ve managed to stay almost caught up on Grey’s Anatomy, because that is usually what I watch when I’m on the treadmill.  But, Tim and I have a ton of TV to watch.  I think that sounds like a perfect plan for every night after the kids go to bed!

On a completely unrelated note, I hurt my back last night doing crunches.  More accurately, I hurt my left shoulder…kinda between my shoulder blade and my spine.  I was doing my core work last night (like a good runner should).  I had completed my first two sets of pushups and was on my second set of crunches when I got this sharp pain in my back.  It knocked me right down. 

I grabbed an ice pack and sat on the couch for a while.  After about 20 minutes, I needed Tim’s help to get off the couch.  I decided to take some ibuprofen and go to bed.  The pain woke me up a few times during the night and this morning, it is still really painful.  I have to be careful turning my head to the right, or reaching with my right hand.  I’m really hoping that I can still run this afternoon.  (priorities…running trumps studying for finals!)

3 thoughts on “Countdown!

  1. Pingback: 2012 Year in Review « (G)O'Donnell

  2. Being the nurse that I am, I could comment on many of your musings, but I’ll just stick to your shoulder thing. It sounds to me like a vertabra in your back moved out of line a little. The same thing happens to me occassionally and I try to fix it by pulling with my opposite arm to see if I can get it to line up again. It gets to the point at times that I have trouble taking a deep breath. Good luck with it.

Leave a Reply

