Running with a head cold

Today I have a cold.  It all started last night when my right ear started feeling ‘full.’  It was quite uncomfortable.  I watched some TV while holding a heating pad against my ear, then I went to bed. 

I got up this morning and took some Tylenol and a decongestant.  I spent much of the morning trying to keep my kids happy while not exerting too much energy. 

Around mid morning, I started to feel a little better.  I started to think that maybe I could get in a short, slow run today.  I don’t like to take days off.  I especially don’t like to take days off following days off.

I actually put on a pair of running tights instead of my normal capris.  I was afraid that my basement would be cold and that I wouldn’t warm up enough during my run.  Instead of my usual wicking tank top, I wore a cotton T-shirt.  I don’t remember the last time I ran in a cotton T-shirt!

I kept my pace pretty slow and only did three miles.  At one point, I reached up to scratch my left eye and my contact came flying out.  I looked down and saw it land on the treadmill belt.  I stopped the belt and found my contact on the ground!  Lucky me.  I was really happy, because this pair of contacts is only two days old.

Even though it wasn’t the workout I had hoped for today, I’m glad I did it.  I’ll probably take tomorrow off.  Maybe by Saturday I’ll feel good enough to tackle a long(ish) run.  I’m hoping to run for an hour on Saturday.  Only a few more days left to pad my 2012 mileage.  I’m at 1155 miles for the year.  Not too shabby.  It’s almost time to start thinking about goals for next year.

What are your goals for 2013?

Leave a Reply

