Time to regroup

Most people struggle to maintain their healthy habits through the holidays.  It isn’t unusual to put on a few pounds and skip a couple workouts.  I was fortunate enough to be able to stick with my running schedule.  However, my normally aggressive sweet tooth kicked into overdrive for the months of November and December. 

Tim works as a mail man and for the weeks leading up to Christmas, he comes home every day with some sort of sweets…cookies, chocolates, candy.  The best ones are the homemade treats.  We enjoy much more than our fair share of goodies.

But, now it is January.  And while, my weight is only slightly higher than it was on November first, I really don’t want it trending in an upward direction.  I am ready to hop back on the healthy eating bandwagon.  I won’t give up sweets entirely (not realistic), but I am going to focus on eating a little bit less in general, focusing on fruits and veggies (which give me more energy and make me feel better, anyway) and stopping when I’m not hungry any more.

I don’t have drastic changes to make, I just need to get back to where I was.  I should also get back to some of the things I used to do…smoothies and snacks of fruit and veggies instead of sweets.  I am also hoping to keep my weekly mileage above 20.  I feel better when I run 5 or 6 days a week (rather than 4 or 5).  Since I don’t have time to do a lot of long runs, most of those will be in the 3-5 mile range, so they don’t add up very fast.

Hopefully, by just being a little more mindful of what I’m eating and making sure I get my workouts in, I can get back on track.

So…what’s for dinner?

Leave a Reply

