Fighting obesity by watching TV

I think America’s addiction to TV can be used for good.  Just give everyone a treadmill!

Today was my ‘long’ run day.  I’m not following any specific training plan right now, but I still have a loose schedule of runs that I follow.  I want to make sure that I don’t lose any fitness and that I am fully ready to embrace my half marathon training plan by the end of the month. 

So, I’ve been trying to incorporate some intervals once a week and I do a long-ish run on Saturdays.  Because I have children, my training takes place on my treadmill.  The officials frown on young children being left home alone!  (I figured this out the other day…in December I ran 115 miles.  All but 3.5 of them were on the treadmill.)

My treadmill is in my basement and I have a TV down there that I watch while I run.  I rationalize some of my viewing choices by saying that I can only watch certain shows while on my treadmill. 

Today I had a 2 hour episode of The Biggest Loser on my DVR that I was going to watch.  My non-plan called for an 8 mile run.  Once I got going, and got past the first 3 miles where I always feel like crap, I just decided that I would keep running until the program was over. 

I have a piece of paper that I tape over the display on the treadmill.  If I had to watch the numbers crawl up, I would go crazy.  Since I was running this at an easy pace, I didn’t have any reason to adjust the pace or look at how far or how fast I was going.  I just kept running. 

I fast forwarded through the commercials.  Two hours of ‘live’ TV takes about 90 minutes when you skip the commercials.  I was able to get in 9.5 miles in 90 minutes.  That is a little more than the 8 miles I had planned on.  It made me feel more than ready for that half marathon training plan that will start in a couple weeks.  It also makes me think that I can handle some longer distances on the treadmill.  As long as I have a distraction, running on the treadmill isn’t a problem.  I know a lot of people hate that machine, but it is just the stage of life I’m in.  I’ve gotten used to treadmill miles.  I kinda like it.

Maybe, someone needs to invent a TV that will only work while someone is on the treadmill.  It isn’t that watching TV is inherently bad, it’s just that people use TV time to take the place of time when they could be active.

What do you think?  Do you watch TV while you run on the treadmill?  What is the farthest you have ever run on the ‘mill?  (I think 9.5 is my tops, today and one other time.)

Leave a Reply

