Half marathon training plan

I am getting ready to embark on a half marathon training plan with the goal of finishing in less than 2 hours.  That would be a pretty huge PR for me.  My current PR is 2:11:15, so I need to take off almost a minute per mile.  No easy task.  But I feel ready.

I am planning my PR attempt for the Oshkosh Half Marathon on April 21st.  This was the race I ran last year for my current PR.  It is a relatively flat course and I feel that I can do well there again.

So, I put together a training plan that I hope will prepare me to run the race in under two hours.  This is the most work I’ve ever done on a training plan.  I needed to be sure that I included some tempo runs and some speed work, as well as enough general mileage and long runs to make sure I’m ready on April 21st.

Here is what the first week of training looks like:

Sunday: 6×400 first interval at 8:20 pace and increasing speed with each interval. (I’ve never done 400 meter intervals before…I always do 800s, so I’m not sure what the recovery sections will look like.)

Monday: 4 miles easy, with some inclines.  Mondays I have school from 9-4, so it is my plan to get up and get the miles in before I leave for school.

Tuesday: 6 miles, with 4 miles at half marathon tempo (HM tempo) pace of 9:05

Wednesday: 3 miles easy.  Wednesdays I have clinical from 7-3.  Getting up to run before is not feasible, so I am going to have to do these miles in the evenings.  I don’t usually like to run in the evenings because there is always something else that needs to be done.  I’m hoping that by keeping the expectation to a minimum, I can at least get in a few miles.

Thursday: rest.  Clinical from 7-3 on Thursdays, too.

Friday: 3 miles easy.  I am working on Friday, so these will have to be done before work.

Saturday: 9 miles.  Yes, my long runs are still on the treadmill.  Besides the fact that winter running is not my favorite, I am home with the kids and leaving them alone for that long really isn’t a great idea.

So, that is the plan.  I’m hoping that I can report back that I nailed the first week of training.  I’m hoping the first week of school doesn’t completely derail me.  There is a lot going on and I hope I can stay on top of everything!

What are you training for?

Leave a Reply

