Oshkosh Half Marathon race preview

I am running my first half marathon of the season on Sunday.  After the events in Boston earlier this week, I am anxious to get to this race.  There is something about getting out there and running and proving that we (runners, and Americans in general) refuse to live in fear.  There are always going to be horrible people in this world, but we can either chose to live in fear, or we can persevere.  We can survive.  We can prosper.  We can race!

Onto the preview…

I’m nervous about this race.  I’ve worked really hard to prepare for it.  I have big goals.  I want to succeed.  The more work I put into something and the more invested I am, the more I really want to get the results I hope for.

I set my current half marathon PR at this race last year.  At that point, I ran a 2:11:15 and I was thrilled.  It was a PR by a pretty considerable margin.  This year, I am looking to cut off another chunk of time.

I started my training plan for this race the end of January.  I have been really diligent in my training.  I have put in the effort, even though there were a couple days when I just wasn’t feeling it.  There have probably been times when I could have worked harder, but school or work or family stuff would get in the way.  Regardless, this is the hardest I’ve worked for a specific goal.

I suppose I should just get to the goals!  (I always get nervous putting my goals out there for everyone to see.)

C Goal: Anything better than my current PR of 2:11:15

B Goal: Under 2:05

A Goal: Finishing with a time that starts with a 1, even if it says 1:59:59.

Even though I have three goals, there is really only one goal for this race.  I’ve said it from the beginning.  I really (REALLY) want to run this in under 2 hours.  I worked so hard on putting together a training plan that would get me to the finish line in under 2 hours.  There is no doubt that I will be disappointed if I don’t make it in under 2 hours.

Of course, the closer I get to race day, the more I am obsessing over the weather.  I’m hoping it doesn’t rain (or snow!).  And if it gets too windy, that could slow me down.  As of right now, it doesn’t look too bad.

I’d be thrilled with temps that warm, but the wind makes me a bit nervous.

The other thing that makes me nervous is not knowing how my body is ever going to react on any given day.  It is no secret that I have chronic GI issues.  I have been having some flare-ups lately and it has me a bit worried.  Hopefully, by monitoring what I eat the next few days, I can avoid any discomfort during the race.  Then, I’ll celebrate with ice cream!

See you for the recap!  Is anyone else racing this weekend?

Leave a Reply

