Should I try again?

When I crossed the finish line of the Oshkosh Half Marathon in April with a time of 1:57:58, I was ecstatic!  I had finally reached my goal of a sub-2:00 half marathon.  I had worked really hard and it paid off.  And I was determined that I would never want to work that hard, or feel that much pain for 13.1 miles ever again.

Then, 6 days later, while taking it easy, I ran a 2:06 at the Pine Line half marathon.  And, a couple weeks later, I ran a 2:03 at Journey’s while I felt like crap and didn’t even have a Garmin to tell me what my pace was.

So, if I can run a 2:06 on tired legs, and a 2:03 fighting GI issues, should I try to go sub-2:00 again?  Can I go sub-2:00 again?  Do I want to?

I have found myself examining the elevation profiles of my next couple half marathons and wondering if I should dare try.

Madison Half Marathon May 26th.  I ran this course as my first half marathon in 2010.  The only thing I remember is the hill at the end almost killing me.

Gary Bjorklund Half Marathon June 22.  Elevation looks good, but I know that the course will be crowded, so I’m not sure it is the best choice to try to run fast.

Red, White and Boom July 4th.  I’m running this one with Tim as his first half marathon.  So it will be at his pace.  I should probably tell him about that hill, huh?

Madison Mini Marathon August 17.  There are a few hills, but the bigger problem could be the weather.  The middle of August could be a scorcher!

I’m registered for a few others.  Some don’t have a posted elevation chart.  One describes the course as “(Challenging) Nice mix of hills and flats. One major climb at about the 4.5 mile mark. Finish with a taxing 1,000 meter gradual climb.”  That isn’t exactly a PR-type of course. 

My guess is that if I decide to try it, it will probably be at Grandma’s in June.  We’ll see how I feel then.  All I know is that I feel a bit adrift without a goal.

Oh…this just in.  Here are some photos from Journey’s Half Marathon.

 

 

  I even waited until well after I crossed the timing mat to turn my watch off.  I figured that the photographer had certainly gotten my photo by then.  I have so many pictures of me turning my watch off at the end of races!

Leave a Reply

